What does email mean to hearing people?

Karen Yip

Reaction score
Hi! I am Karen Yip, who is from Hong Kong. I am Deaf. I am studying for BS of Bio and Chem in a university by online.

My English is not good. But I am trying to write.
Email is important to Deaf in wide field such as education, business, and other activities. My primary school teacher told me that most hearing people are used to have email as long-distance communication. But, since I didn't get my university teacher's replies by email, I doubt that in Hong Kong, email is not preferable by hearing people. In your country, did you go through it?
1. There are no science-related sign language interpreters so Hong Kong Deaf students must learn by theirselves, ask teachers of their universities or their own private tutors.
2. I have already quitted once a higher education school. During studying for higher diploma of biotechnology, I didn't understand something about biotech even if I have attended classes and have read some textbooks. So, I asked teachers by email. All of they said "Come to my office, give me date and time." I tried to see them but it didn't work. I asked one, "why did you not give answers by email?" he said, "I can't explain it clear by email. I like to see students and teach them." Until to my cochlear external hardware was broken, I quitted.
3. Online undergraduate course may be easy to Deaf but in fact not easy. I required teachers offer phone text service but they said no. We own university email addresses so in theoretically we can communicate each other by email. In past two year, I realized that teacher just give a reply for questions that it should be in contents edited by the course developers. If I asked some other questions related to Bio and Chem but not edited in the course contents, they would ignore the emails. No one "sorry" email.