Well howdy there folks

RemiJ

Reaction score
Bit about me, I'm a college student whose in a Multicultural Health course. We need to interview folks from a specific ethntic or nonethnic minority group for a class project, and since I'm immunocompromised and it's still COVID o'clock, my options to meet people are fairly limited.

Working from my experience as a non-ethnic minority (trans/ gay) I can certainly point out a lot of places for improvement in the curriculum's understanding of my own groups. (In case you are curious, we got allotted 6 pages in my book. There were also some outdated suggest on being 'culturally competent' around LGBT folks like "do not use labels" rather than "use the labels the patient uses for themselves, ie gay vs queer vs LGBT".) There's also just the straight up fact that while these "tips" might work for most people in that group, there's often significant discourse in our community, with majority and minority opinions on each topic. "Pronoun circles" come to mind as a great example.