Vocational Rehabilitation Employment Assistance

Reaction score
Has anyone found employment through the help of VR? They send you to an agency that they think is best for you to assist you in your employment search. I have never used their help for employment. Only for tuition for college.

I am in the process of getting with one to find a better job. I am working part-time but it is not a challenging job or for long-term. I kind of had help finding this employment through another agency that was not VR because I was on a waiting list.

Discrimination is real whether you sign or not, have a college degree or whatever. I know it's a matter of finding the right employer, but sometimes I feel I may be missing out on connections that I don't know of? I am curious what connections VR has that maybe I am not aware of. I have a college degree that I hope to use.

I have usually found employment on my own through connecting with the right employer and the right timing.

I am uneasy about this for some reason. I feel that from some experience, (not VR) agencies help find you whatever and get your case closed quickly. I have read some good stories online--you know...testimonials? I wonder if they happen often or they choose the pretty stories to share.

My counselor does not seem like a mean person or anything in person, but the counselor jumps to conclusion about things I say, and then it turns out not to be true. I won't go through this story, but I have yet to find anything truthful from the counselor. The counselor seems compassionate and says I will find a good job, but then I haven't found the counselor to be truthful, so far--you know jumping to conclusion without knowing the facts. I fear not being happy with their help. The case will be closed if I don't accept their help.