Transferring to Gally?

murderegina

Reaction score
It's been awhile since I've posted! however, I am back!

....with a question for all you:wave:

So, I am attending college in Boston where I live and my major is psychology. My ultimate goal would be to have a degree in Deaf Studies and ASL and eventually go on to be an interpreter. So why aren't I doing that now? My school doesn't have any studies relating to ASL or Deaf culture at all. Only two schools in Boston do. So I've decided after this year, I want to transfer to Gallaudet. This fall I will be continuing my freshman year studies, so I wouldn't be transferring too late into school would I?

I would doing my pre-reqs, but I wouldn't be having any ASL. Is this even worth it? It's too late to apply there, and they've already begun their 5 week integration. What would be the ideal way to approach this problem?

Thank you in advance!

I'd apply ASAP to Gallaudet for next semester (Spring). It's DEFINITELY not too late to transfer, because I'm transferring schools after my 2nd year of college when I already have junior and some senior level credits.

Talk to a counselor first, because they know better than me, but they can tell you what you should do. I wouldn't worry too much about it being "late" anyway, because there's all kinds of scholarships Gallaudet has to offer, and if it's free or really cheap, who cares if it takes another semester or two?

It's good that you'd be getting pre-reqs out of the way, so that's not even a concern. That'd transfer over and you'd have less classes to take at Gallaudet.

Thank you so much! Are you transferring to Gallaudet?

I was thinking I needed to be present for the 5 week immersion though. I've heard a lot of mixed reviews and I want to be sure I dont need to rely on oral communication. If I attended in spring, I wouldn't have this opportunity. What do you think?