Questions about children with hl

Andrew Jackson

Reaction score
Hello, everyone!

My name is Andrew, and I am an undergraduate Speech/Language Hearing Sciences student. This summer I am taking a Rehab Aud class, and I am writing a paper on children with hearing loss.
I'm looking for people who have worked/currently work with children with hearing loss in any way (doesn't necessarily have to be an aud setting) to answer the following questions:

1. How have you worked with children with hearing loss, or more specifically,
what are your duties that involve children with hearing loss?

2. When you work with children who have hearing loss, what are the two or three
consequences or effects of the hearing loss that you think have the biggest impact on the
child’s life?

3. Do you think that children with hearing loss are being adequately served in the area
where you work?

4. What kinds of things would you like to see happen differently for children with
hearing loss?

5. If you are familiar with the speech and language services that children with hearing
loss receive in your school or community, do you think that these services are meeting
the needs of these children? Why do you think this?

6. If you are aware of the hearing related services that children with hearing loss are
receiving in the schools or community where you are, do you think that these services are
meeting the needs of the students? Why do you think this?

7. Do you have anything that you would like to see done differently by people who work
with kids with hearing loss? (e.g. programs, funding, devices, etc..)

I know these are a lot of questions but remember you're helping out a future audiologist :). I thank you all in advance for your time and wisdom.

Andrew

First of all, the Deaf community doesn't use the terms hearing loss or hl for identity.

To you both,