earth2venus

Reaction score
Hello! I am Venus, I am profoundly deaf in one ear and severely hard of hearing in the other. I am a teenager live in California. I do not speak English well, (writing is GOOD enough) and my family is hearing so I am self taught in ASL, and fluent, but not natural yet. I feel out of place among Deaf community in my area since I wear hearing aids and my sign is sometimes bad, and I am not profoundly deaf in both ears. I do not fit in among hearing teens because my accent and poor English are made fun of. I feel very frustrated. Does anyone offer guidance?

Two things.

When I was a teen, there was strictly Deaf (Includes HOH, some deaf, alot of deaf and others) its all labeled deaf. And you had the hearing world. (Everyone else)

A side part of that simple dividing of people, you also had trainable and deaf and dumb. Which was not too far behind my time as a teen, they still had that in some areas.

When I entered MSD Columbia at 6 to 7 years old my primary communication was pointing or certain sounds. The family knew whats up then and go from there. Otherwise they simply did not bother. So I had nothing at 6 or so. Once I was given Hearing Aids I could hear (I remember that first day clearly with them in terms of sound and engagement with the world in here and now) I was sent to a new deaf school just built. My first day (Monday 8 am) a teacher named Sandra Brown, a younger 20 something sat me down and taught me A, B, C and 1 through 10 in less than a hour.

Once I had that I was given simple letters on board in english. A B C and 1 to 10. Then I was taught the Roman Number system stacking numbers to letters. For example 1 C in sign means 100 in number. C is Roman for 100. M is 1000. etc. The actual sign for 1000 is slightly different in Signed English of the time. ASL was not fully formed then.