New HDMI-capable CC Decoder

CCman

Reaction score
Hello. I am new to the group. I am a design engineer, having worked on several video set-top boxes using Closed Captioning over the past 10 years. I have a new project this summer to make an HDMI set top box which will also display closed captioning - therefore one will be able to watch high definition video, but still be able to view CC. This is something that has been missing or difficult to implement since the introduction of the HDMI interface. This will be an external box, similar in concept to older analog CC decoders, going between your receiver/player and your digital TV. It will work with many common HD digital video sources, such as satellite receivers, cable receivers, and up-converting DVD players.

So I have a few questions for this community:

This product will only process and display line-21 (EIA-608) style captions. Is this a problem?

Are the new features of digital tv's EIA-708 captioning very popular and used often? If so, which features of EIA-708 are most important?

Even though this box will only support line 21 captions, some limited user-control might be possible (like font-size or offsetting the captions on the screen).

How important would a multiple-input "switching" arrangement be (e.g., multiple HDMI inputs and one HDMI output)?

I realize everyone will have different needs and opinions, but I still would like to hear comments and feedback.

I would say ANY captioning is popular among the deaf and HOH. So if settop box is our only access to CC, we would definitely use it even it annoys us because it is not always the right font for our tv. (some can get too huge depending on the tv program)

What's different between EIA-708 and EIA-608?

I guess anything that makes it less complicated would be good.

As poster above stated, any captioning is good.