Matters arising from the Deaf & hearings relations.

Pat kuame

Reaction score
As a deaf or hoh person,have you ever tried been in a relationship or got married to a hearing person? If so until today,you are still hanging onto that relationship or marriage,how do you as often as possible,manage to sustained it with a partner of the opposite gender and culture?

I have heard of people making assumptions regarding how dangerously a relationship between deaf and a hearing person could be.And we know however that,all relationships have problems and in the case of deaf and hearing,it could be worst but it's not as completely impossible.

I have my own observations regarding this theory but I prefer to withheld it to hear what others have to say.
I want to learn.

Last edited:
I met several women in my lifetime. Due to a variety of reasons, associated with trucking it was clear that a relationship was possible should I stay home and pursue it. However I was a trucker and gone.

Fast forward many years, I met wife through happenstance. Dowdy in Batesville had dispatched me on a hot load to California in one of the frozen trailers and chop chop get going yer late already. 4 days to do it. I pulled into a place to grab food and wolf it down on the road. There she was and asked if I knew sign langauge. Yes I did. Can I learn? Well, her reasons were valid as a hearing person who was part of the church she was with that had some deaf that had no sign language services. They sit in a pew quietly until the service is over and went home routinely. They gained nothing.