Low End Hearing Aids, eg Phonak Naida III UPs.

NaidaUP

Reaction score
Has anyone ever only got the low end / standard hearing aids every time they upgrade and found noticeable improvement over their last pair?

Reason why I'm asking is with the
Phonak Naida IIIs
Phonak Naida III daz
Phonak Naida S III
Phonak Naida Q30
there seems to be big improvement in the features

But when I personally look at the
Phonak Naida IXs
Phonak Naida S IXs
Phonak Q90s
i don't see a huge improvement in the features.

Has anyone always been happy with the low end hearing aids?

Reason why I'm asking, is my Dad asked if I wanted to get the top of the range hearing aids (which got me thinking), the next time I upgrade, altho that won't be anytime soon. I've been very happy with my Naida S IIIs and as these are my first digitals aids, I have no experience of upgrading as such :)

Wirelessly posted (Blackberry Bold )

I went with an entry level Phonak and while it helps, I regret not spending the extra money for additional program options (it only has one listening program & tcoil).

I won't do entry/basic again ... It was the worst $500 I ever "saved".

Friend of mine told me she only paid $1,000 for a Phonak Naida, which surprised me.

I'm used to price tags of $6,000 for two hearing aids.

Have prices really come down a lot for quality hearing aids, or did she buy a low or mid-grade hearing aid?

I have what I thought was a higher end hearing aid, Starkey. After trying a Naida at the audi's office a couple weeks ago, my Starkey's are crap. Get the best one you can afford. Not only will you have better results, the aid will last you longer and you won't have to buy new ones as soon, saving money in the long run.

Years ago, I do agree that the low end hearing aids were not that good but it seems to me, that the low end hearing aids are actually becoming a lot better where's the high end hearing aids, are not changing that much.