How many deafies here know languages besides English and ASL?

Dixie

Farting Snowflakes
Premium Member
Reaction score
How many of you know languages besides English and ASL? Knowing a language means you know more than a few survival phrases, and you can engage in a conversation at a basic level on a number of general topics. This does not indicate fluency.

Me? I am fluent in English, I can engage in simple conversation in ASL (I was raised orally, so I did not learn ASL until I was in my 20's), I have studied French, German, Spanish, Swedish, and I am currently studying Latin.

Anyone else?

nada, just English and ASL. lol I took few spanish courses but i totally forget. :)

I noticed that hearing students are required to learn a language at school. My sons picked Spanish. I never did and I don't know any deaf people that was required to in school.

Right now I am learning french on a gaming site I play in. Bonjour!

French in grades 7 and 8. Flunked the oral tests and barely passed the written portion. I simply couldn't comprehend what the teacher was saying. It was like an out of the world alien language to my poor ears!

On a whim I decided to take spanish in grade 11 and surprise surprise I flunked that too even though I mastered the written portion. Oh well.

English and a spattering of ASL are what I have.

Well, I'm fluent in English (raised orally too) ASL - know basic conversation (learning it now) and I can speak Polish. Took French from Grade 3- half of grade 7 (Got pulled out to learn how to type on a computer? Really stupid but oh well). And that's pretty much it

Took Latin and French in high school............Can still understand my quebecosis friends (from camp) FB statuses......