HOw does it work buying a car in Michigan?

dereksbicycles

Reaction score
You see, I am an Illinois resident. I go to Michigan quite often to visit my girlfriend. I would like to buy a car there. I've bought 2 cars out there. What I did is that I took title with me back to Chicago, got Illinois license plate via DMV. I then bought plates with me the next time and drove it back to Chicago, no problem.

I'm wondering if I can just do it in Michigan instead of going to Illinois DMV. I don't think I can get Illinois plates via Michigan DMV. What have you done in the past??

Michigan issues Michigan plates. Illinois issues Illinois plates. If you're a resident of Illinois, you want Illinois plates.

Each states issues the plates of its own state, not other states.

You should be able to purchase the car in Michigan and drive it back to Illinois with the bill of sale. Then, in Illinois, go to the DMV and get the plates. There should be no reason to make an extra trip.

Hubby bought a van in Michigan, and with the bill of sale drove it home to South Carolina. At the SC DMV, he got plates. No problem.

Why did you have to go to Chicago for the plates? Don't you have a DMV in Evanston?

There is DMV in Chicago. None in Evanston. WE do have currency exchange in Evanston though. I didn't make extra trip for the car.

I'm guessing that bill of sale is good for 72 hours only. Maybe less? Also, plates or not, I think a person has to get insurance on the car before driving it to Chicago, right? If pulled over, they would get in trouble for not having insurance even though they've bill of sale.

There is DMV in Chicago. None in Evanston...
Wow. Even in my podunk SC town we have several near-by DMV branches, and online DMV. :giggle: