HOH at college

nickysunflower

Reaction score
I was wondering what things will be like going to college next year. How much am I going to miss the the professor is saying? Am I allowed to record the class? I am 38, and haven't been in school for a long time. Any suggestions are welcome. Thank AD!

I'm not an expert but I would think understanding would depend on the room acoustics, class size, and the professor teaching and his techniques.

But for the recording part, unless you get a special pass or accommodation, is completely up to the professor. I've had ones who had no problem and those that would ban you from class.

I would ask to college and the professors themselves as well and depending on circumstances asking for what you need for accommodations .
I can stick with smaller class and no to little accommodation but my cousin Angie needs an fm system or note taker for any class.

No matter hearing status, when it comes to college it is always a good idea to go early, ask lots of questions, and get to know your professors.

Talk to the school's disability office and see about getting set up with a CART reporter or interpreter.

If you use an FM system, see if you can meet the professors ahead of time to introduce yourself and explain the system. Some hearing people get intimidated by it if its the first time they have seen one. It's better to explain it to people ahead of time, instead of just meeting them for the first time and handing it to them a minute before class starts. This is true for non-class room situations also.

I guess that is probably obvious to most people, but it wasn't for me. I had to learn the hard way.