Hello. My name is Ty.

Catastrophic

Reaction score
Hello my name is Ty. I only just came across this site a few days ago. I am hearing and taking ASL. I have come to really love ASL and seem to pick it up somewhat easy. I am still new to it though. I actually live really close to CSDR and have been there a few times.
I started taking ASL for an odd reason probably. I mean it is always good to know another language or form of communication sure, but I started taking it because I have never found the woman of my dreams. I have come close to just giving up thinking maybe she just does not exist. Then I thought maybe she is deaf? So I took up ASL.
After that, I kind of just fell in love with it. I like learning about the history, and learning ASL itself. I think it is great to open up a new door in my life. I realized the reason I started was kind of lame, but you never know right? lol. If the girl that was right for me was deaf, I would still love her with every ounce of my being.
Well I guess that is my intro :dunno: It would be cool to get to know some people and expand my horizons :)

Welcome! You didn't sound dumb at all; you actually sounded quite sweet! Everything happens for a reason, so just stay positive and you'll find and get what you want in life! ^_^

Gotta start somewhere. . . :) It wasnt all bad besides its always good to see guys motivated to learn sign language. Even if you think you see a career of being an interpreter in your future, I still chuckle at hearing stories sometimes from guys who prefer to have male interpreters for some situations instead of with female interpreter. :)

Hope you find what you're looking for. If she's somewhere here on AD.com or wherever closeby! :) Wish ya luck and all the good things to come head your way! :)

Question. In my ASL class, I am one in only 3 guys out of like 35 people. Is it mostly female based, or is this just my class? I was kind of surprised.