Hello from upstate New York!

SusanAbare1972

Reaction score
Hello! I'm a student at SUNY Empire State College taking Community and Human Services with a concentration in Addiction and Disabilities. God, I hate that word being used for the Deaf community! This community is not DISabled. They are DIFFERabled! They can do anything that a hearing person can, sometimes even better; they just do it differently! Do they need specific accommodations? Sure, that is with anyone that is differabled! We have accessibility for those in wheelchairs, accommodations for those with learning differabilities, and help the blind with certain things without changing their circumstances. Why can't we do this for the Deaf community? When will there be acceptance in society for the Deaf community? Why do we have to try and change them? It angers me to no end that we as a society force the Deaf to speak to us! Why not learn their language?

Bats are disabled cause they're blind, right?
No, I don't think that the blind are DISabled; they are DIFFERabled! They just need certain accommodations in order to do what they need to do. They have canes to navigate their surroundings while the Deaf community is forced to assimilate to the hearing community, and I get extremely angry about that! Particular inventions to communicate with the Deaf are interesting at best and discriminatory at worst. The one that I continually get sent to me by well-meaning friends offends me! The glove that translates ASL into English is very limited. It doesn't take the whole picture of what is being said. The sign for late and not yet is the same hand sign but has a different connotation with mouth and eye context.

Who ever said life is fair lied, life is a challenge for everyone just in different ways, even those considered normal, there is no normal, all have challenges . . . too tall to short, to fat to thin, to old to young, to sensitive not sensitive and the list goes on :ohno: :2c: :deal::ily: