Hearing person investigating deaf community mental health

Reaction score
Hello all,

I'm a student in a Clinical Psychology Master's program in Orlando, FL, currently in a multicultural counseling class. The class includes a diversity experience project where students are asked to incrementally gain exposure and experience with communities they have not previously encountered very often. Hopefully this thread can connect me with someone who is willing to help me with "Phase 2" of a 3-part plan to meet the goals of the project. The phases are (1) Observation/Research from outside the community, (2) Investigate at a closer distance, and (3) Immersive experience. I have already conducted research relevant to the project (that is, I did "Phase 1".

Now that we have that out of the way, would anyone here who is deaf or hard-of-hearing be interested in spending a few minutes (say, between 5 and 30 depending on your availability) chatting/messaging with me throughout today with your own experiences or thoughts regarding experience of the community?

Of particular interest are mental health issues/needs, also for those who are older I am curious about how social networking may have influenced a few things for you... but the conversation does not need to be limited to those subjects.

I read the post addressed to those performing surveys/interviews and stuff like this. Whatever participation you can provide is much appreciated. I am not seeking generic research information, more like trying to learn in the manner of a quality 1:1 conversation. Focused on your population because I have limited experiential knowledge yet the community interests me for a number of reasons...