Gallaudet Graduate Student - Cochlear Implant Controversy Presentation

SpitfireMK5

Reaction score
Hi Everyone,

I'm a graduate student at Gallaudet University and I'm doing a class presentation on the opposing viewpoints of the Medical Community vs. the Deaf Community on the topic of Cochlear Implants.

I wanted to reach out to the Deaf community on here and get the communities opinion on their opposing view of Cochlear Implants.

I :ty: all of you in advance for any help you may be able to give me toward my presentation.

My Main question: "How do you feel about Cochlear Implants? What do you believe the Medical Community is trying to do? Are they trying to fix the Deaf? What might be wrong with CI's?"

John

Why does there need to be a controversy about it? In addition to wearing HA's, I also wear an insulin pump for type 1 diabetes. Mind you, I am late onset HoH, I am also late inset type 1 (MODY). I use two medical devices to compensate for two anatomical deficiencies, 1 being my hearing, the other processing (using insulin to) process sugar. If CI would improve my ability to hear, I'd be all over that like a fat kid on a donut. No controversy in wearing either devices, it is do or do not.

Don't feel bad though, compare the CI to the insulin pump, there are old school diabetics that firmly believe in MDI (multiple daily injections) over the pump, there is the deaf culture that goes many directions in the use of medical devices to hear, CI, HA or remaining in a silent world and relying on sign. all of which are subjective and very individual.

What do I believe the medical community is trying to do? for one thing, they are trying to make money, for another, to do the first, they have to make thngs better (subjective) for XYZ, in this case, making hearing possible for the deaf, making hearing BETTER for the deaf by creating the technology to make machines to perform the functions that the body, for whatever reason is not doing or doing properly.