Forced out

Simown

Reaction score
You may not have seen me much recently and for a good reason, I have been busy at University. But, it is not all good news, from the end of next week I will not have a place at this University, I have no other option but to leave.

Let me explain:

I have been attending this university for the last 3 months and during that time the University were still unable to come up with the basic support I need. As you may well know, having a CI isn't the same as being able to hear, but they don't seem to understand that - because I can take some part in conversations, doesn't mean I can hear.

I required a notetaker during lectures - simple. They provided me with a supply notetaker for half my timetabled classes, who took average notes, for 9 weeks. I complained to them and they agreed they'd help me catch up until the exams I just sat. Now it's after exams and I have failed, badly, because of them, they didn't even provide a copy of someone elses notes and very little support. Infact, I missed the start of my first assignment this year because I wasn't even told.

Now, I have quit this University because I am under such a disadvantage not having the material or work covered to continue, they don't seem to have much of a clue how to deal with a deaf student (apparently they had one in the past in my department though).

I am refraining from any definite action against them just yet because I require a reference from them to go onto my next University, which has got to be better than this next year :aw:

If you managed to read all of that, what do you think?

I'm really sorry, but don't know what to think. Hoping you have much better luck in future.

I don't know what to think, either except I'm giving pause to ask why the very Uni that failed you would give you a recommendation to the next one.