Deaf culture

Brownie

Reaction score
Hey guys/girls
I am currently an ASL student,and i am searching for a good artical on "Deaf culture" my teacher would like me to read a good article on "Deaf culture" and write a 2 page response report to the article...Does anyone know of any good articles online that I could use??? The report is due thursday and I can't seem to find any good articles. I'm cutting it real close!! thanks!

Did you try Googling it? Do a search for "deaf culture". Yes, include the quotes. ;)

Brownie said:
Hey guys/girls
I am currently an ASL student,and i am searching for a good artical on "Deaf culture" my teacher would like me to read a good article on "Deaf culture" and write a 2 page response report to the article...Does anyone know of any good articles online that I could use??? The report is due thursday and I can't seem to find any good articles. I'm cutting it real close!! thanks!

*knock* *knock*

Did you check this thread?

http://alldeaf.com/showthread.php?t=16103

Deaf culture? What’s that? Is that like when they make yogurt with deaf bacteria? :dunno:

Lev.....would it help your palate if the word was, "cult" instead? LOL!

Last edited:
Oh! You’re talking about The Cult of the Deaf! Why didn’t you say so? I LOVED that movie. Boris Karloff ROCKED in that film—he was truly one of a kind. Does anybody know if the DVD is subtitled?

Another really good movie is Deaf Man Walking. Did y’all see that one? It was very thought provoking—it really opened up my eyes to the issue of capital punishment.

Speaking of good movies, has anyone watched Sound and Fury? It is a documentary, (sounds boring, but it's not) about a family deciding whether or not to get cochlear implants. It was the first time I had seen a deaf child of deaf parents wanting an implant, and a CODA talking about getting one for her son. This movie doesn't talk A LOT about deaf culture, but you could definitely write two pages about it.