Deaf culture topic ideas

Div_Div

Reaction score
I am a beginning ASL student and would like to write my English paper on an issue relevant in the deaf community. I have not had a lot of time to spend with the deaf community as I have just begun but I would love for any of your ideas on a topic I could write about. It can be an issue that needs to be resolved within the deaf culture or issues that have opposing viewpoints. I have tried several ways to look up information for a topic but haven't found one that really strikes me as a topic that I should write about. I thank you all in advance for your help.

An interesting topic to explore: the impact of Cochlear Implants since say 1980.

Implanted Sunnybrook Advanced Bionics-Harmony activated Aug/07

An interesting topic to explore: the impact of Cochlear Implants since say 1980.

That's got lots of opposing view points and is sure to start a fight!:lol:

But to the student, you should really just sift through old thread where you can find plenty of information.

Isn't that the point of the exercise Bottesini? More relevant than the latest on Zombies?

Implanted A B Harmony activated Aug/07

Isn't that the point of the exercise Bottesini? More relevant than the latest on Zombies?

Implanted A B Harmony activated Aug/07

I love Zombies! But you are actually correct.

Not really relevent when exploring issues important to those that are culturally Deaf, especially since CI users make up a very small minority of the deaf/Deaf, and most still require many of the same accommodations that the culturally Deaf need in society.

Much more relevant would be the issue of accommodation.

Emergency safety planning for the deaf community is a big deal here in hurricane country. That might be an interesting topic.

Maybe this thread should be retitled: Let's come up with ideas for new threads....??