Celiac Disease...anyone here deal with it?

mizwytch

Reaction score
I got diagnosed with Celiac Disease about a month or so before I had gall bladder surgery. I have been learning to live gluten free for about 4 to 5 months now. It was a bit of a bitch at first...but it's getting better. I have learned to make my own gluten free bread, (damn sight cheaper and better than most of the commercial brands), and other things. Seems the biggest obstacle is finding anything without some gluten derivative treacherously hidden in it. When 90% to 95% of the food stuffs in this country is off limits to a growing number of people it's difficult to keep it out of your system. I find the biggest culprits are OTC and prescription drugs and toothpastes.

I have a bit of an intolerance to gluten.

I try not to eat much gluten anyway for example bread.

I have tried eating an gluten free bread but I nearly barfed.

I don't have Celiac but am aware of the issues with it. Anything like that, or even a wheat allergy, can be very challenging....I have dairy allergies, though I know it's not quite same ramifications. I think it's a great solution to be able to make your own bread. I eat gluten-free much of the time and generally avoid typical "commercial" bread anyway, usually I get sprouted whole grain bread and pasta> for myself - as opposed to hubby- at the health food store.
Many more groceries at least in my area do have products specifically for people with Celiac but as with corn, gluten is hidden in so many other things besides food.
Maybe you can see if there is a Celiac support group near you which has an online feature or availability also?
:hug: