Applied to Iowa School for the Deaf!

tbone

Reaction score
Hello all!

My name is Ryan. In case you didn't know. As most of you know or have learned by now, I am an ASL student.

Through my experiences as an ASL student and learning more about the Deaf community and culture, I have finally come to the realization that I never want to stop learning about ASL, Deaf people, and their culture. I can thank my ASL teachers, FJ and Tim (both whom are Deaf), for opening my heart and eyes to the Deaf community. They truly worked hard on me and it has paid off. Because of my teachers and my Deaf friends, I decided to apply for a job at the Iowa School for the Deaf.

Am I scared? Yes! Do I know what I'm getting myself into? Yes and no. Will I regret this decision? Not in a life!

What, if anything, should I know about working at a deaf institution or a residential school for the deaf?

By the way, I applied for the Houseparent/Residential Assistant position.

Thanks for your reply in advance!

Your asl had better be verrry good if you will be an ra. Otherwise the students will walk all over you. Then the only way you will know what they say about you is in the bathroom stalls

For the most part my ASL skills are pretty good. I'm active in ASL Club, CRAD, and chat with customers at my local grocery store. If they need help, I'm always there for them!

The only way I can get better with my ASL is by conversing with native signers. CODAs, Deaf people, and Experienced Signers.

Thank you for your help!

Hope there are enough deaf staff there to be role models for kids at the dorms....hearing ones do not cut the mustard oftentimes but there are few that has proven me wrong.

Being a RA for dorm and being member of ASL club are 2 different things. I don't know if you've went to a lot of deaf events?

Also curious about ISD. It would be a very enhancing experience if you can get it.