Alimony in deaf divorce

Sandy Florida

Reaction score
Hi. I live in Florida and am getting a divorce. My husband and I were married for 20 years and have 4 children. My husband and children are all hearing.I have a masters degree but have stayed at home and taken care of the children for the past 18 years. I know typically with an education such as mine the courts would only give rehabilitative alimony until the wife could get back into the workforce. It is going to be harder for a deaf person to reenter the work force than a hearing person. Has anyone been through a divorce with a deaf alimony issue?

Divorce at the courts is a straight forward manner, here in my state its up and down half to one spouse and half to the other on all marital assets. Keyword Marital. Meaning house and so on. Sometimes the court has to order sale of the home and decide who does what with the vehicles or other items of value.

When children are involved that becomes a bigger heavy lift so to speak. Child support etc possibly in addition to alimony. Your Lawyer will know for sure whats best for you under your states laws in divorce. As far as the deaf vs workforce, thats something that falls under the SSA, via SSI etc. Im not certain about SSDI, even if that was awarded you would be out of the workforce except for part time and any "Earned" wages will count against it. In any case DHS would have support for your children should you gain custody. There is usually a DHS in most if not all counties.