Willing To Tolerate A Hearing Asl Student?

Olivia Twidwell

Reaction score
Hi there! My name is Olivia and I've been learning ASL for almost four months now. I'm finishing up ASL 1 in about three weeks and I would really love to meet people who are fluent or experienced signers who would be willing to tolerate my signing. My professor is Deaf and told me the best way for me to learn is to meet d/Deaf and HoH people, so if you would be willing, I'd love to skype or FaceTime with anyone who signs. Message me or leave a comment if you'd be interested. Thanks so much!!

Hello :) what about a Deaf coffee chat or other newbie-friendly Deaf place to meet where you are? Meeting one-on-one with people in your own area you get the most out of it.

Hello :) what about a Deaf coffee chat or other newbie-friendly Deaf place to meet where you are? Meeting one-on-one with people in your own area you get the most out of it.

Sure IF there are any where she is! I have been unable to find any over the years where I live.

I know sometimes they can be hard to find or maybe the person can't get there due to mobility/transit issues - BUT - seems many students come on making the assumption that AD exists to help with homework - including the "meet the deaf person" thing - and also without first even trying to locate anyone locally to meet. I think the point of starting/learning ASL and then having an interaction is to have a "live" experience and leave one's own little world...online is not the same as real life.