What did this mean?

Lillys dad

Reaction score
OK, As some know, I am learning sign. I was taking our new puppy (13 week old standard poodle, who is going to be trained as a hearing dog for my daughter) to be dropped off and get groomed, then I had a meeting to go to at work. Anyway, while at a stop light, a car pulled up next to me. I noticed a R.I.T. sticker on it. I also noticed that the driver and passenger were signing back and forth. The passenger saw my puppy, and signed for the driver to look at the dog. He looked over and said "I like your dog".. I signed "thank you". I think he was a little suprised to see me signing. A very brief conversation started in which I signed to him that my daughter is deaf and the dog is going to be a hearing dog for her.
He asked where I was going. I signed that I was going to work as the light turned green.
Please keep in mind, that I have very little actual signing experience. I knwo enough sign to communicate with my daughter, but have a hard time having a conversation with an adult. After I signed that I was going to work, I started to drive away. As I did this, the guy signed something that I do not know what he said.
Using his right hand, it looked like he touched the fingertips of his thumb and middle finger together and pointem towards the middle of his chest whilie keeping his pointer, ring and pinkey fingers straight. He then raised this sign up towards his chin, then out and away about 6 inches from his chin. He had a small smile on his face as he signed this.
I hope I described this sign in a manner that is clear. What doe this mean?