Vr

OBXBoy said:
I have been working as a vendor with a state VR agency for over 12 years. I'd be happy t address any other questions folks have.

Oh really, let's see if you'd answer this
situation here:

DRS (short cut for Dept of Rehab Services)
I was informed from DRS that
I ought to contact my VR counselor
for finanical assistance while
I'm un-employed doing job searches
and then my car broke down requiring
high repair bill and then DRS suggested
that I ask my VR counselor for
some finance assistance... All I got
her response: "Sorry, we are NOT in
a "car business" we no longer provide
funds anymore. You take public transportation"

That is NOT helpful at all !! Who does
she think she is ?

There is NO public transportation here
and how can I continue going places
for job searches ? My point is that
my VR counselor does NOT care at all.
My question: Does VR suppose to
provide financial assistance for
anything asked for ? (I noticed that
VR claimed publicly about how much
they helped lots of deaf people etc)

Oddball said:
I am appalled by your story about Oklahoma VR. But I have to ask you question.. Is your VR counselor hearing and using sign language? If not, then it is a common problem between hearing VR counselor and Deaf client. Communication is the number one problem. It is not new.

Well, I hate to say this, VR agencies are just neutral and "job placement factory." Best approach is to ask Disability Rights advocate or Deaf lawyer, if you know, about discrimination. Stay strong and fight for your rights.