Treatment of disabilities in higher ed

houder

Reaction score
I am an online professor at a very popular non-profit, private college that offers many online programs (you have probably seen the commercials, they are all over the tv). They also have a ground school, but focus a lot on their online program. I am a hearing professor, maybe this doesn't surprise the board, but it really perplexes me. I use lots of interactivity in my class like videos. I always include a written transcript because I think its the right thing to do. I don't ask if anybody needs it or wants it, I just do it. Sometimes youtube doesn't cooperate with closed captioning so I have a written transcript when I don't have cc. The administration frankly had an attitude about it. I suspect because no other faculty is doing it. They sent an email around that we should refer the students to the disability office if they need accommodations if we use any videos in our class (after pushing us for years now to use more videos). Is it just me or this at the minimum being lazy, perhaps disrespectful or maybe even pushing the boundaries of what's legal?

Doesn't matter what you do if all the classes aren't accessible. To put together a degree, we would need them all to work for deaf.

I'm a retired interpreter for Deaf college students in traditional college.

I don't see anything wrong with providing all students with transcripts.