Service Dog

SweetThang

Reaction score
I'm a College Student in Oklahoma and recently i have been trying to have my dog move in with my on campus. I have trained her on my own to notify me when certain sounds are there. The School is telling me that since she is not a certified service dog, that she is not allowed and mainly considered a pet. My roomate is in a wheelchair and has her dog living with us. That dog is not certified either. I did my research to fight their decision. I found that the ADA defines a service dog as an animal to provide assistance to an individual with a disability. If they meet this defintion, animals are considered service animals under ADA, regardless of whether they have been licensed or certified by the state or local govt. Can anyone give me any more information or advice on this? Thanks!

I would agree. It would have to be certified. There are people here at NTID who try to abuse it. There's one gal I know who has a dog like that. She got it for free cuz of ADA rights. She's now spoiling the dog and it's now a couch potato. She takes him to the store, mall, everywhere... and they can't do anything cuz it's "certified". I think they should put the dog through the certification program from time to time to renew their certification. That will teach those people to make sure those dogs keep doing their jobs.

Well, there could be a place where you could go to get your dog evaluated and see if the dog can get certificated or not.

You should look into it.

I agreed with Banjo, try find a place where dogs being trained and certified. I'm not sure if I remember this once I researched on hearing dogs, I think there's a possible you can put your own dog, not too old, for training to become qualify for hearing dog. Good luck and let us know what's going on!

Interesting!!

I applied for a Hearing Dog TWICE and both are rejected twice!! :werd: