Security in School Systems

bitner90

Reaction score
Hey everyone,
I'm currently an education student and with everything going on in the news lately. Children are coming to school with guns. Teachers are hurting each other and the numerous of other situations that have happened. There was a bomb threat made at my school this week. It was handled but it really got me thinking about my career path. What do you all think possible solutions are to these problems? Do you think that the school systems are doing enough to keep our children and school staff safe?

Most school systems aren't doing anything.

I know and its simply not enough. Hope many people have to die or be taken seriously? I want to be a teacher and I honestly love learning and sharing that knowledge of lots of things but it really scares me that one day I'm going to be teaching class and someone is going to start shooting. Shouldn't we add more secuity. Schools don't have a lot of money due to budgets but its it just as important that everyone is safe?

Adding security probably isn't going to happen for financial reasons but I would advise that you personally take some training if you can afford it. There are many classes out there that train in shooter scenarios and you may be able to talk to the trainer about your situation. Unless you're in one of the very few places that will allow you to carry a gun your options will be limited but understanding how these shootings typically take place and what happens during one could make the difference.

The preparedness plan for most schools is so worthless it's not even funny. On top of that they never ever drill in their plan so it's going to be useless. I wish that schools would at least consult security experts and build a decent plan for these situations but I think they would rather keep their head in the sand and pretend it wont happen to them.