Newbie Here

Leah

Reaction score
Hello all:
I am a 24 year old female. I wear hearing aids since I was 4 years old. I will be getting stronger hearing aids on monday. I don't recieved any benifit right now from my aids. Hopefully the stronger ones will help me. My parents are against cochlear implants for me. They are hearing not deaf. I am the only deaf in the family. I will get CI when I move out and live alone. Write Back Soon
Leah

I am current 24 years old and got cochlear implant on my own dicison. My parents want me have one but letting me decide and when to get it.

The cochlear implant isn't like hearing aids. It a lot practice to learn for example/

I got cochlear implant three months ago and effect progressive went great. Only little negative that I learned that can't hear that words on far side. Only more clearly is 3 feet due the device's processing. It doesn't mean bad, because it all new sounds that I never heard a sound.

Other than that your parents doesn't support and ask them why and all those question since you need "support" to be there for you.

Hi Andrew:
Where are you from? What implant do you have? I am from Conneticut.
Leah

Leah, do you have a good doctor who could explain the process to your parents? You are over 18 years old and should be able to make a decision on your own. But if you want your parents support, why not gather all information to show to your parents and also have your doctor or audiologist back you up to cease down your parents fears?

Meg,
Yes I do have a good aduie but my doctor is good too. Do you have an implant yourself? If you do what implant brand do you have?
Leah

Leah said:
Meg,
Yes I do have a good aduie but my doctor is good too. Do you have an implant yourself? If you do what implant brand do you have?
Leah

Hi Leah:

Yes I have a CI. I got it a few months ago. It is Nucleus.