New York City ASL Student seeking friends to chat with!

paxdomini99

Reaction score
Hey Guys!

My name is Gerard I am a hearing student at Concordia University Chicago. I am currently taking ASL at my school. I would love to chat with people, deaf and hearing, and make friends and hopefully sign with people! I want to communicate in ASL so badly, i feel that God has given me a real passion for it and i want to go into deaf ministry some day. I am training to be a pastor. Please hit me up if you want to talk!

*Pax Domini*
~Gerard

what! Thats so crazy, superr small world! Concordia just started ASL classes this year. Do you guys have classes there? do you sign? have we met! lol

Im sorry if i sound really eager guys but im jsut really anxious to sign! over skype, in person, anything! i really want to practice and communicate with people! so let me know!

Gerard, we haven't met. I don't take ASL at Dominican. I'm a PhD student there and I sign a little. I went to Columbia College in Chicago to be an ASL interpreter but I didn't finish. I sign some...but I sure need a lot of practice. We should definitely meet lol

Oh. That is very interesting! We should practice! my girlfriend is also taking sign language at Concordia, we should meet up in chicago! My girlfriend and I should be back the 10th of January. Do you want to meet sometime?

That would be cool...My first class isn't until the end of January but I'm usually on Dominican's campus, just let me know. :)

ok i definitely will! im super excited haha. So when you say "you sign a little" what do you mean? because i think you probably sign wayy more htan i do! I am a beginner.

its all good. It will be good practice for us both! and I know that my girlfriend will definitely enjoy it.

for sure!

For all you other people, what is your background? hearing, deaf, HOH? What do you like to do for fun?

Welcome!