My sister was an interpreter for me.

webexplorer

Reaction score
I thought that it would be interesting for you to read about my situation.

A couple of years ago, I had four different intepreters at my high school for two years. They had to quit their job because of no benefits. I don't blame them. My older sister, Julie, became a non-certificated interpreter for two years. She is so wonderful. We had a hard time to deal with the school department because there was a shortage of interpreters in my area. They finally allowed her to be the intepreter. After I graduated from HS, she interpretered a young hearing kid, who cannot talk at all, knows sign languages for one or two year(s). She worked so hard to earn her money without a benefit.

Julie started her own Cape Cod Bed and Barn business. She teaches people (both adults and children) how to take care of her horses and give them riding lessons. She also provides people to rent her cabins and bring their own horses. That's about it. (http://www.capecodbedandbarn.com)

That's very nice of her. It does upset me when all interpreters want is more benefits. Jeez.

VamPyroX said:
That's very nice of her. It does upset me when all interpreters want is more benefits. Jeez.