Michigan State University Deaf Education Program Closing

heatherrogers

Reaction score
I'm currently a student at MSU in the Deaf Education program. On November 9, we received an email stating that pending approval from the university governance, MSU will stop accepting applicants for its Deaf Ed program in the spring of 2010, and all students currently enrolled will need to be finished by the year 2013. MSU is the only school in our state that teaches Deaf Ed using ASL (Eastern Michigan University has an oral program), and the students here are extremely concerned, upset, and shocked that MSU is considering cutting such a unique and vital program. Since the news has come out, we have had an outpouring of support around us both on campus and throughout the community.

We have since started a petition that we plan to present to the University president and would love any support we can get - please ignore the donation request at the end of the petition - you don't have to donate money and it does not go towards our cause, its an ad for the website.

Keep Deaf Education Program at Michigan State University Petition : [ powered by iPetitions.com ]

In addition, we are planning to hold a rally on Dec. 4 at 10:00 am in front of the Hannah Administration Building on campus to protest against the university's decision to close this program. I'll also post some links to various facebook pages we have with more information as well. The students here at MSU believe strongly in our program and in the future of our students!

Support Deaf Ed/ASL: KEEP DEAF-ED MAJOR AT MSU! | Facebook

Rally Information: RALLY TO KEEP DEAF EDUCATION PROGRAM AND ASL CLASSES AT MSU | Facebook

Same thing happened to the University of Pittsburgh - not enough qualified teachers...

My friend had to drop out of MSU because they were planning to drop their Deaf Education program. I hope the rally and petition will change the university administrators' minds about canceling the program.