Interpreter Refused…multiple Times

Renée12

Reaction score
Ok, so I'm a sophomore in high school and I am involved with many clubs. The problem is that it's mainstream and I'm literally the only deafie in sight for miles. Only about 2-3 classes and clubs offer an interpreter for me. The problem is that none of these classes and clubs are important. I've asked for an interpreter multiple times. I ask more for it in band because it's the only class that I don't need a note taker in and because I'm the head drum major. I originally started the season off with an interpreter, but a couple weeks ago she was dismissed by the school saying that she's a distraction to the people on the field. I know that I'm pretty high up on the band's social hierarchy and have some authority, but I'm not sure if that will give me the right to keep on fighting. Every single time I talk to the director I want to bring up the ADA but I'm too scared to do so. I could also go with plan B and quit the band but they need me.

Ok, so I'm a sophomore in high school and I am involved with many clubs. The problem is that it's mainstream and I'm literally the only deafie in sight for miles. Only about 2-3 classes and clubs offer an interpreter for me. The problem is that none of these classes and clubs are important. I've asked for an interpreter multiple times. I ask more for it in band because it's the only class that I don't need a note taker in and because I'm the head drum major. I originally started the season off with an interpreter, but a couple weeks ago she was dismissed by the school saying that she's a distraction to the people on the field. I know that I'm pretty high up on the band's social hierarchy and have some authority, but I'm not sure if that will give me the right to keep on fighting. Every single time I talk to the director I want to bring up the ADA but I'm too scared to do so. I could also go with plan B and quit the band but they need me.