Hi From AZ...

jz

Reaction score
HI All....

(WARNING I WENT OVER BORD AND WROTE A NOVEL! OI VE!)

What To say? Well First of all, im new to all of this. This is the first time in a long time that I've attempted to "REALLY" dig into the Deaf community. Don't get me wrong I've been apart of it for years, but putting myself out there. I feel like im subjecting myself to possible prejudices. Heh. One for being A CI User and hearing so much about how a vast majority of the Deaf community is against it. I know I have to stop listening to such crap and get over my fears.

Let me tell you a bit about myself and maybe you'll understand why I feel the way i do, but keep in mind, I am a PROUD deaf person, and a PROUD CI User. I get offended by hearing people saying mean and crude things as i do a deaf person being upset with me for a choice I made when I was 9, and Given the option.

I was born a "normal" (about as normal as one can get LOL) hearing person. over the course of 5 years my parents learned I was loosing my hearing. I lost it in my rt ear at 5 and my left at 9. My mother being the REAL support system and only support system i had then (my dad was just *there*) did everything she could possibly to to help me. She was there for me when i was frustrated, when kids would tease, or when i wanted to learn something new *ie. sign*. When I lost all hearing My world came to a halt. But being as young as i was I guess it really didn't matter as much. Till both parents came to me with the idea of implanting. I really don't remember the conversation about it, but i remember all the visits to House Ear Institute. I do remember it was MY choice. It was either get hearing aids that "DONT WORK" and go to a Deaf school or Get the implant Hope it works and continue with Mainstream. I chose what I knew best, and I really wanted to go back Over seas. Selfish HU?