Hey y’all!

Asahinasan

Reaction score
Hey y’all!

I guess I should introduce myself!

I am in my mid-30’s, a wife, a mom of three, one bio, and two bonus!! And of course I can’t forget my 90lbs Foxy Dane fur baby!!

I work in the dental field (well with covid, I’m not going back until the dental offices have made the appropriate changes to reduce the spread and protect patients and us providers.) So for now, I’m a stay at home mom!

I have been HOH as long as I can remember. Growing up “What?” was the most frequently heard thing in my house. My parents just thought I wasn’t paying attention. I’ve had various hearing tests done over the years with conflicting results, some showing some evidence of my HL, but most showed very minimal hearing loss.

My current Audiologist believes that I’m dealing with Central Auditory Processing Disorder.

I do have measurable hearing loss in one ear, which is something that I am glad is evident on the test, because it validates my experience. In fact I have to sleep on my “good” ear side to block out external sounds.

My biggest issues are following conversations. I rely on lip reading and closed captioning, otherwise the words I do hear make no sense whatsoever.

This can be funny, or detrimental depending on whatever situation I’m in.

If I’m in public and there is noise, it’s even worse. I’m completely lost with any background noise. BUT if there is any background noise going on, I can “conveniently” ignore my husband going on and on about whatever sports team or whatever that he’s watching at the moment!