Hello! newby here.

TerryB

Reaction score
My name is Terry. I have what is categorized as severe hearing loss. I am not deaf but I can relate to "isolation" from the hearing world. Not long ago I had a stapedectomy which helped tremendously. I now can hear conversation in most settings with the help of hearing aids. I have decided to learn to sign as a second language and implement that with my business and mission work & any where else I can be useful. That being said, what would be some suggested resources for learning sign language? I'm located in the Cleveland/Chattanooga TN area.
Many Thanks!

Hi Terry, I'm also new here. I'm losing my hearing at a fairly rapid rate and I've decided to be proactive and learn ASL for when my hearing aids no longer help. I'm retiring this year which is three years early simply I can't hear the kids anymore ( I'm a high school teacher). I'm taking an online course which seems quite comprehensive to me. I already know a ton of signs and can understand simple conversations. I'm going to attend some deaf events as soon as I can locate some. The website is startasl.com
They have a tutorial site too where you can practice signing with the tutor. These classes are free and pay classes. I'm doing the free one first for the basics and then I'll move on to the paid one if I need to. Hope this helps.

Thank You Sue!