Hello from the peanut gallery

MomofmanyKidlets

Reaction score
Hi my name is Karen I recently had a hearing test and yes I know you can't fail them as I am told but I did. :ty: I am new to the this world of realizing I don't hear/catch what everyone is saying. I think people mumble ALOT! I have been using closed captions on my t.v for over a year. I don't even try to watch tv without them now. :roll: I have been depressed ever since the test, because of the hearing aid cost. I have been getting my family to look at me and talk and I can follow what they say and I don't accuse people of mumbling anymore but I do notice an increase in headaches. Sometimes I have to just lock my self in my room and breathe. I don't want to be depressed weepy but we can not afford hearing aids and we do not qualify for help to get them through the non profit agency here in town. I look forward to getting to know everyone and at least others in my boat or near it :wave:

Last edited:
Oh I sound so depressing! I really don't mean to be that way...I am happy :ty: I am very excited to find this website and forum.

Oh I sound so depressing! I really don't mean to be that way...I am happy :ty: I am very excited to find this website and forum.

That is okay when you felt depressed because you learned that you have hearing loss when you go for your hearing test. Nothing wrong with that. This is right way for you to go to the audiologist and get your hearing test when you could not hear at home or other places. That is good. This is what you need when looking into the websites for hearing aids which you could try to afford or get a hearing aids for free. They are helpful because you are late deafened. Did you have a chance to look at your audiogram from the audiologist? Kind of curious how much hearing you have lost.

:welcome: to AllDeaf forum. I hope you enjoy reading and posting here. See you around here. :wave:

Look into Vocational Rehabilitation offices too- can't hurt to try :)

:wave: