going to college as a hoh/little "d" deaf person

SpaceGlitter

Reaction score
Hi! so I am starting college next fall and I am wondering what accomodations I should take advantage of.

I wear hearing aids and one-on-one or with just a few people I can hear okay as long as my aids are on. In a classroom setting? forget about it. Can't hear anything.

I've been learning ASL for about three years now. First on my own and now taking a class. I can follow what my teacher is saying pretty well but sometimes he goes too fast for me or theres words I don't know. I'm nowhere near fluent but in general I at least understand most of what is being said to me.

I know that if it's available in my school I'm going to request a note-taker. But should I have an interpreter? I don't know if I'm deaf enough to ask for one, would that be taking away from from someone who may need one more? Will the interpreter not want to do it because I'm not totally fluent and I use my voice? It is an art school so a lot of classes will be mostly sitting and drawing still lifes. But some will be lecture-based or at least the teacher will need to explain stuff before we start drawing. I don't know if I should have one.

Can I have one for the lecture classes but not workshops? Should I just stick with a note-taker? Should I wait to request one until my signing is better?

Hi ! I would check out your college disable resource center and check out what's available. As long as you have an hearing audiogram I'm sure you can have an interpreter and they can adjust to your level. You can have an interpreter for the lecture and they can leave if you're all set for the lab or workshop part.

I'm hard of hearing and I use my voice to speak in class and sometimes I let the interpreter voice me either way.

Try it out! You might learn ASL a bit faster. Good for you taking an ASL class even if you don't understand everything having exposure will help you.