Fingerspelling: Clarity and Speed

AquaBlue

Reaction score
I am new to sign language and so far I learning at a good clip. My fingerspelling on the other hand is horrible. I am very slow and not very clean/smooth.

Are there any proven exercises that work?
Any tips on improving my overall fingerspelling?

Just curious.

:cool:

I teach ASL to students, and I know I am bad for doing this, but I discourage my students from fingerspelling everything. There is nothing more tiresome than reading everything fingerspelled out. What I would prefer for my students to do (and for hearing ppl in general) is to be creative and use some body language to show ideas, and to my advanced students, to think of signs for group of similar words. The only rule for fingerspelling words should be for names and city names, or in some situations, specific names for conditions like medical or scientific stuff. Other than that, better use body language or descriptive signing.

I grew up in public school. I was taught with PSE (Straight English). Later I met few deaf in my late teen, I learned ASL.. It's hard for me to adjust PSE and ASL.. I am more fingerspeller than signs. hehe
Ahh, i remembered i have alot of comments or remarks about my signs by deafies. but they dont understand why i was taught by.. but now days, they dont crictize but depends which crowd you hang out.
Oh well.. just learn as much you can!