Every day's an adventure for OSD interpreter

Miss-Delectable

Reaction score
Every day's an adventure for OSD interpreter | statesmanjournal.com | Statesman Journal

When Patti Togioka became director of Oregon School for the Deaf, no one had to introduce her to Sandra Gish, the staff's sign language interpreter

The two had known each other for years and led interpreter training workshops together.

"She's the expert," Togioka said. "I have a background and I've been a trainer, you know, but I defer to the best."

Calling Gish an expert may be an understate-ment. Gish is famous in sign language circles.

She has interpreted for a long list of celebrity performers. She has been a professor and coordinator of the respected American Sign Language/English interpreter program at Western Oregon University.

She has published numerous articles and contributed to several training videos. Heck, there's even an interpreting processing model named after her, the Gish Model.

"Once I graduated and went out in the world of interpreting, I realized the gravity of who it was that was teaching us," said CM Hall, one of Gish's former students who is now on staff at Western Oregon. "In our profession, it doesn't matter where I go, Gish is known, Gish is revered. She has national and international credibility for what she has contributed to our profession."

I met Gish the day "Extreme Makeover: Home Edition" swooped onto the campus of Oregon School for the Deaf. She was thrust into the spotlight while interpreting on stage for Ty Pennington, the reality TV show's star, and celebrity designers Michael Moloney, Paige Hemmis and Johnny Littlefield.

Gish heard countless times how lucky she was to get a hug from Ty that day and to rub elbows with the cast all week.

Her response, each time, was that she was just doing her job.