Do you love your job?

BrittBritt

Reaction score
Recently I got my first teaching job teaching English at a 4 year university. I have worked in the past doing retail in my younger days, selling clothes at JC Pennys, and then worked for 8 years doing mortgages, until the economic crisis hit and I was laid off. I went back to school, and now, for the first time in my life, I enjoy what I do for a living. It's such an amazing feeling. Part of my job entails teaching college kids (and I so enjoy them!). Since I teach at a four year, most of these kids are polite well rounded young adults who honestly care about their futures. I take great pleasure in my interactions w them during class time. The second part of my job entails researching and writing academic papers for the English discourse community. I also thoroughly enjoy that part of my job, and find it mentally stimulating and rewarding (especially when I get published). It's a brand new amazing feeling to have a job I like, and it has contributed to my overall quality of life and happiness. I wonder how many people out there have a career that they enjoy.

Last edited:
I enjoy my job. I write in-house applications utilizing Visual Basic & Access.

That's great you are finally discovering your calling!

As for me, well, it's more like a job that I can put up with and it beats flipping burgers. I'm a software developer and I'm actually looking for a job with travel and more opportunities to be creative. I like how my environment is casual and low-pressure but it gets boring with how tedious and regimented it can get.

Impressive. I'm glad you like your work.

I do like my job, but to a guy it is more of an act of providing(for family if you have one) than actual pleasure. I'm lucky I have a job I like, but if I had to weave baskets to put food on the table I would be a weaver(it's a guy thing).

First job: small business, family: disliked it because of repetitiveness and no challenge