Do you have a gun or shooting question?

Reba

Retired Terp
Premium Member
Reaction score
If you have a question about guns (types, collecting, purchasing, using, maintaining, safety) or shooting (techniques, safety, types), please feel free to post here.

Before I ask my first question, let me give some background information.

I'm almost 65 years old, petite woman, with Stage 2 Parkinson's Disease. I've been shooting for more than a few years. Until the last few years, I could fire a semi-auto handgun. Now, my hands are very weak, and I can no longer push or pull the slide the action to rack the gun. I can barely make it budge. I've tried the full-hand push, and the two-finger pull/slingshot techniques, and neither one works for me. Also, I can't properly load rounds into the magazine. So, I've switched to a 5-shot revolver. I enjoy shooting a revolver but they are limited in capacity, even with a speed loader.

Any tips?

http://adaptiveoutdoorsman.com/dihugunsu.html

I found this link , I am not sure if what you're looking for , have you asked a gun shop if they could order something for help you handle your gun easier. I know wounded vets go to shooting ranges so there has to be something for people with PD.
Interesting but not quite what I need. I was asking about using handguns, mostly in a concealed carry mode. This linked site is more for hunters using long guns. I can still use my long guns, with some effort.

Still, good to know about that site. :)

I've seen these but carrying or attaching extra equipment kind of negates the aspect of carrying concealed for self defense.

pistol slide devices