Dealing with Family Help

MomofmanyKidlets

Reaction score
I explained to my mother that I was looking at hearing aids one day when she called me. She got all serious and asked me who needed them. I said I do this was followed by a snicker and full out laugh from her. I suppose I should have hung up and I really wish I had. She then teasingly asked me if I had been slapped in the ears to much :shock:. This was followed by another comment that at this point I stopped listening. I should have hung up then but well I didn't. She told me that the doctors had wanted to put tubes in my ears like my brothers got and she didn't want to do it so she didn't. This I already knew because my ENT said that I would have half my trouble had this been done. :shock: So even though I have proof in my hand I begin to doubt test results because of my mother. I tell my husband I need support I am feeling insecure and upset. He responds by saying I don't know I am not a doctor. Not one my friends I have told understand in-fact most didn't know I needed a hearing aid and are surprised. So at the moment I feel so very alone.

I got to wonder about your family's reaction have you had a history of complaining about health problems? I would understand your family if you keep making up issues like a hypochondriac.

And how severe is your hearing loss? Do you find yourself asking people to repeat themselves or missing out on sounds? If no, then you might be overreacting.

Still, it's not a pleasant situation and maybe it just takes time to get over this.