Deaf, but New to the Deaf Community.

Whiskerberry

Reaction score
Hello. I'm 25, I was born deaf into a hearing family who equipped me with hearing aids and spoken language. I didn't meet another deaf person until my son was born. I started learning ASL when I was about 18. I had to wait because my parents forbid it in their household. I'm still learning because I didn't have many resources when I first started. I've have moved out of state away from my family and have beeing diving into the Deaf culture. I still have a lot of questions since I've been trying to do personal projects within the community.

My projects correlate around interest and professions that I have taken up and have found that don't have much accessibility for ASL. An example is that I'm a museum studies and Art history major. I have a hard time keeping up in class because many terms, and (literally) every name of the artist in our past, to modern-day have very complex and long names and are usually french/ Italian based. I have started making name signs for rather popular artist such as Michelangelo and Leonardo Da Vinci (to only name a few.) So that I and my interpreters can better stay up to speed during class.

My other project is revolved around Dungeons and Dragons. this one is especially more difficult for me to keep up during. Since the terms are much more complex than even art history. I haven't been able to find much information or advice on how to start or continue these kinds of projects, so I'm hoping I can get more advice here. I have generally started making small videos for some terms to better help myself stay organized, but that is about all.

This is a long introduction, but I have SO MUCH on my mind ^-^

Hi,