Communicating with healthcare professionals

rose1990

Reaction score
Hi everyone, my names Rose, I'm a paramedic in the UK.
I was just wondering what your thoughts are about communicating with healthcare professionals? I'm doing a presentation on how we can improve services for the deaf and hard of hearing community. I would love to hear how everyone's experiences have been, good and bad! Myself and my colleagues have been discussing how we rely to heavily on lip reading, that and good old pen and paper. We feel this is not right, as you should have the option to communicate however you feel more comfortable. Would it help to have access to a sign language interpreter via skype etc? any ideas or comments would be great :)

Thanks everyone. Much love

Consider inviting deaf & other disabled to your next “disaster response training” session.
A deaf friend said our local emergency response organization recently did this.

I'm a hearing medical professional. I can't speak to the experience of Deaf people, but if you'd like I can tell you the story of what a hearing physician's office did to one of my Deaf patients, which was the motivation for me to start learning ASL.

I'm a hearing medical professional. I can't speak to the experience of Deaf people, but if you'd like I can tell you the story of what a hearing physician's office did to one of my Deaf patients, which was the motivation for me to start learning ASL.

Please do. The more knowledge we have, the more power to do the right thing.

I notice that our OP is from the UK. I think that makes is especially important to indicate which country your are posting about it you have experience to share. It seems so many of our members are from the USA and forget that not everyone is.