AllDeaf.com
Perks - Advertise - Spy - Who Quoted Me  
Go Back   AllDeaf.com > Deaf Interests > Captioning & Sign Language Interpreter
LIKE AllDeaf on Facebook FOLLOW AllDeaf on Twitter
Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread 11-14-2011, 12:12 PM   #1
CSign
Registered User
 
CSign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Best Coast, USA
Posts: 3,283
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Does make of TV effect CC?

My mom is having Comcast come over to fix a problem, and I told her to have the person help with the CC that doesn't work on one of the TV's. She told me that Comcast said it's that TV that won't allow for CC. That makes no sense to me. The CC works fine on the other TV's, but if he's in that room the CC needs to be on.

Has anyone heard of the make of the TV not allowing for CC? It's a Viseo I think...
CSign is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
All Deaf

Beitrag Sponsored Links

__________________
This advertising will not be shown in this way to registered members.
Register your free account today and become a member on AllDeaf.com
   
Unread 11-14-2011, 12:26 PM   #2
posts from hell
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 9,430
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Using HDMI connections?
posts from hell is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-14-2011, 12:27 PM   #3
Banjo
Expelled
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 11,649
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
If the TV receiver is connected to the TV through the HDMI, then the odds are you may be unable to turn on the CC through that video input at all. On the TV receiver, there should be an option to turn on CC. It's right there in the manual, if not, the information would be on the internet.
Banjo is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-14-2011, 12:34 PM   #4
CSign
Registered User
 
CSign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Best Coast, USA
Posts: 3,283
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by posts from hell View Post
Using HDMI connections?
It's the oldest TV in the house (probably 5 years or so), so I don't think it has HDMI.
CSign is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-14-2011, 12:36 PM   #5
posts from hell
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 9,430
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by CSign View Post
It's the oldest TV in the house (probably 5 years or so), so I don't think it has HDMI.
Find out.

Also find out if they using a cable box for that specific TV too.
posts from hell is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-14-2011, 12:37 PM   #6
CSign
Registered User
 
CSign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Best Coast, USA
Posts: 3,283
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Banjo View Post
If the TV receiver is connected to the TV through the HDMI, then the odds are you may be unable to turn on the CC through that video input at all. On the TV receiver, there should be an option to turn on CC. It's right there in the manual, if not, the information would be on the internet.
I don't think my parents still have the manual, but checking on the Internet isn't a bad idea.

Does HDMI hinder CC abilities? We had DirectTV and HDMI connection on our TV and the CC worked. We just switched to Comcast, and I haven't been able to get the CC to work on our TV's either. I need to call Comcast to figure this out.

Thanks for the input.
CSign is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-14-2011, 12:38 PM   #7
CSign
Registered User
 
CSign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Best Coast, USA
Posts: 3,283
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by posts from hell View Post
Find out.

Also find out if they using a cable box for that specific TV too.
There is a box, and I'm 99% sure there isn't a HDMI cable, but I'll find put in a bit.
CSign is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-14-2011, 12:39 PM   #8
posts from hell
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 9,430
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by CSign View Post
There is a box, and I'm 99% sure there isn't a HDMI cable, but I'll find put in a bit.
Find out yet?
posts from hell is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-14-2011, 12:41 PM   #9
Banjo
Expelled
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 11,649
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by CSign View Post
I don't think my parents still have the manual, but checking on the Internet isn't a bad idea.

Does HDMI hinder CC abilities? We had DirectTV and HDMI connection on our TV and the CC worked. We just switched to Comcast, and I haven't been able to get the CC to work on our TV's either. I need to call Comcast to figure this out.

Thanks for the input.
The TV's HDMI video inputs often don't give you the option to turn on CC. This is a very common problem.

DirectTV has a built-in CC decoder, so the CC is rendered within the TV receiver. Then it is conveyed as an image through the video signal to the TV. The TV has no role in decoding the CC on any DirectTV receivers.
Banjo is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-14-2011, 12:41 PM   #10
posts from hell
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 9,430
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
BTW, it's affect, not effect.

posts from hell is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-14-2011, 12:56 PM   #11
Jazzberry
Registered User
 
Jazzberry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: New York State
Posts: 761
Blog Entries: 2
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Try doing a search here:

Captioning : Open and closed captioning, subtitling
__________________
I was a mainstreamed "solitaire". I'm currently learning ASL. My hearing loss ranges from moderate to profound; my audiogram and speech discrimination are posted here.
Jazzberry is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-14-2011, 01:05 PM   #12
CSign
Registered User
 
CSign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Best Coast, USA
Posts: 3,283
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
There is an HDMI cable.
CSign is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-14-2011, 01:12 PM   #13
posts from hell
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 9,430
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by CSign View Post
There is an HDMI cable.
Nod, that;s what I thought.

You have two problems.
posts from hell is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-14-2011, 01:12 PM   #14
sallylou
Potterhead and Janeite
 
sallylou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: My own private Idaho
Posts: 6,652
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
You've been busted by



This one's for PFH:

__________________
sallylou is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-14-2011, 01:17 PM   #15
posts from hell
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 9,430
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by sallylou View Post
i can't see your pictures your albums are private.
posts from hell is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-14-2011, 01:47 PM   #16
CSign
Registered User
 
CSign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Best Coast, USA
Posts: 3,283
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jazzberry View Post
Thank you Jazzberry. I'll check that out tonight when I get home.
CSign is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-14-2011, 02:01 PM   #17
sallylou
Potterhead and Janeite
 
sallylou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: My own private Idaho
Posts: 6,652
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Weird because the album is public. I'll try again:

Csign got busted by



This one's for PFH:

__________________
sallylou is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-14-2011, 02:06 PM   #18
CSign
Registered User
 
CSign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Best Coast, USA
Posts: 3,283
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
If I used the word incorrectly, ok.

Why the double standard?
CSign is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-14-2011, 02:13 PM   #19
VacationGuy234
Registered User
 
VacationGuy234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 3,717
Likes: 9
Liked 11 Times in 9 Posts
I've used comcast cable boxes with regular cable, DVI and HDMI and I have always gotten closed caption through cable, but you have to turn it on at the cable box not the TV.

If your TV still does not have closed caption when you use a HDMI cable and CC is turned on at the cable box, you have an outdated cable box. I'd just bring it to the store and get the latest one they have, they should swap it out for free.
VacationGuy234 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-14-2011, 02:19 PM   #20
sallylou
Potterhead and Janeite
 
sallylou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: My own private Idaho
Posts: 6,652
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I'm not an English major, Csign. I had to look this up when I was editing my kid's college essay. Relax. Grammar people are funny in a nerdy way.
__________________
sallylou is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-14-2011, 02:20 PM   #21
TXgolfer
Dream Weaver
 
TXgolfer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Everywhere
Posts: 19,050
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
If there is a DVR involved that can aphect things too.
__________________
He who answers before listening-that is his folly and his shame..
TXgolfer is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-14-2011, 02:31 PM   #22
VacationGuy234
Registered User
 
VacationGuy234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 3,717
Likes: 9
Liked 11 Times in 9 Posts
Also, turning on CC at the cable box is not intuitive depending on which cable box you have. The newer ones have a setup button, but older ones do not, I believe. The box should have come with documentation and you can also email Comcast about how to set it up.
VacationGuy234 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-14-2011, 02:50 PM   #23
Jane B.
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 2,443
Likes: 6
Liked 13 Times in 9 Posts
If you are depending on the CC built into the TV the law only requires it on sets of 13in or larger. I do have a 7in set that happens to have it but it does not have the choice of fonts that my larger sets do.
Jane B. is online now   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-14-2011, 02:53 PM   #24
DeafBadger
Ad Astra Per Aspera
 
DeafBadger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 1,445
Blog Entries: 1
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via AIM to DeafBadger
My uncle has a digital TV. You'd think it would have CC. It doesn't.

It has the option of CC. The TV has to connect to the Internet and download an update to enable CC on the TV.

And, of course, my uncle does not have Internet.

Edit... just realized this thread is moreso about the cable box...
__________________
"Ad Astra Per Aspera" - Through hardships, to the stars.

severe-to-profound in both ears, since birth. My Blog

Pale Blue Dot (cc: Select Italian captions, then Translate Captions to English--English)

"Labels are mentally lazy ways by which people assert they know you without knowing you." ~ Neil deGrasse Tyson
DeafBadger is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-14-2011, 02:57 PM   #25
Jane B.
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 2,443
Likes: 6
Liked 13 Times in 9 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by DeafBadger View Post
My uncle has a digital TV. You'd think it would have CC. It doesn't.

It has the option of CC. The TV has to connect to the Internet and download an update to enable CC on the TV.

And, of course, my uncle does not have Internet.

Edit... just realized this thread is moreso about the cable box...
Where did he get it? If local, the store can probably do it for him.
Jane B. is online now   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-14-2011, 03:41 PM   #26
DeafBadger
Ad Astra Per Aspera
 
DeafBadger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 1,445
Blog Entries: 1
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via AIM to DeafBadger
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jane B. View Post
Where did he get it? If local, the store can probably do it for him.
Not sure. He's had the TV for about 3 years now. He probably needs to haul the TV to an Internet cafe somewhere.
__________________
"Ad Astra Per Aspera" - Through hardships, to the stars.

severe-to-profound in both ears, since birth. My Blog

Pale Blue Dot (cc: Select Italian captions, then Translate Captions to English--English)

"Labels are mentally lazy ways by which people assert they know you without knowing you." ~ Neil deGrasse Tyson
DeafBadger is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-14-2011, 03:52 PM   #27
Beach girl
Registered User
 
Beach girl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: northern Virginia in winter; NC in summer
Posts: 3,760
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by sallylou View Post
Weird because the album is public. I'll try again:

Csign got busted by

http://i206.photobucket.com/albums/b...mmarpolice.jpg

This one's for PFH:

http://i206.photobucket.com/albums/b..._an_effect.png
I want that grammar police shield!!!
Beach girl is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-14-2011, 03:55 PM   #28
Bottesini
Old Deaf Ranter
 
Bottesini's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: HFA
Posts: 41,053
Blog Entries: 1
Likes: 48
Liked 66 Times in 44 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Beach girl View Post
I want that grammar police shield!!!
It's pretty cool with the bow and arrows.
__________________
Hello Hulk!
Bottesini is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-14-2011, 04:03 PM   #29
Cheetah
Cheetah Consulting-Closed
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 2,694
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I have a BlueRay player and had to change from HDMI to Composite just to get the caption. Seems HDMI does not carry the caption signal. So much for my HiDef picture.

Note: I think it was composite or Component? I can never remember which is which.
Cheetah is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-14-2011, 04:13 PM   #30
Banjo
Expelled
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 11,649
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cheetah View Post
I have a BlueRay player and had to change from HDMI to Composite just to get the caption. Seems HDMI does not carry the caption signal. So much for my HiDef picture.

Note: I think it was composite or Component? I can never remember which is which.
You don't really get HD-quality image with DVDs so you aren't really missing out on much. With Blu-ray discs, you use SDH, not CC.
Banjo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:30 AM.


Join AllDeaf on Facebook!    Follow us on Twitter!

AllDeaf proudly supports St. Jude Children's Research Hospital

Copyright © 2002-2014, AllDeaf.com. All Rights Reserved.