ASL songs?

horsegal

Reaction score
Hey there! I am an ASL student. I want to practice my signing with music -- not post it on youtube or whatever, but just sign for my own personal enjoyment. I hope to interpret someday, if I end up being good enough. But for now I just enjoy signing and learning about Deaf culture.
My question -- would anyone be willing to help me interpret (but not literally translate) some lyrics into more of an ASL-gloss? I would love to sign a few songs but I don't want to mangle them, if you know what I mean.. I'd rather have someone who truly knows what they're doing to show me the way a little bit. I think that signing music, something I know well, is a good way for me to progress my signing skills, and to have someone show me an ASL interpretation would help me understand ASL grammar better. I have Skype and Oovoo, or e-mail works too. You guys are wonderful! =)
(Also, I read a previous thread about this very same thing and there seemed to be some mixed emotions. I don't want to sign music FOR anyone, I just want to practice, hoping that someday I may be of some use to the Deaf community. I want to be able to interpret accurately. Thanks!!:wave:)

Oh it's definitely not homework.. I'm not in school again until Feb. I'm not that kind of girl, anyway.. but I just realized that might be how it appears! I assure you, it's not. Signing is just something I enjoy doing, like some people enjoy writing or running. =) I'm honestly just looking for someone who is a native signer to help me, so that I can understand grammar and ASL structure better. I am interested in improving and thought this might be a good way while I cannot go to classes every day. I am not signing music because I want to perform it.. at least not for anyone but my mirror. =)

Last edited: