AllDeaf.com
Perks - Advertise - Spy - Who Quoted Me  
Go Back   AllDeaf.com > Technology > Computers, Electronics, IT & Gaming
LIKE AllDeaf on Facebook FOLLOW AllDeaf on Twitter
Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread 01-30-2010, 10:47 AM   #1
Reba
Retired Terp
 
Reba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 46,399
Likes: 67
Liked 141 Times in 62 Posts
What is "AnyPC"?

My netbook, Windows 7, came installed with AnyPC. What is it? Can I get rid of it?

I tried looking it up on the internet and could find only Australian sales sites.
Reba is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
All Deaf

Beitrag Sponsored Links

__________________
This advertising will not be shown in this way to registered members.
Register your free account today and become a member on AllDeaf.com
   
Unread 01-30-2010, 10:57 AM   #2
VamPyroX
bloody phreak from hell
 
VamPyroX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: 40.18, 58.41
Posts: 34,363
Likes: 0
Liked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Send a message via ICQ to VamPyroX Send a message via AIM to VamPyroX Send a message via Yahoo to VamPyroX
Sounds like a remote access program. With that, you can access another computer (also with AnyPC installed).

Think of it as your home desktop computer having AnyPC and you take your netbook elsewhere, but can still control your desktop computer from there.
__________________
Check out my city... CLICK HERE!
(If you've already visited yesterday, visit again today!)
VamPyroX is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-30-2010, 11:02 AM   #3
VamPyroX
bloody phreak from hell
 
VamPyroX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: 40.18, 58.41
Posts: 34,363
Likes: 0
Liked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Send a message via ICQ to VamPyroX Send a message via AIM to VamPyroX Send a message via Yahoo to VamPyroX
Can you give us a screenshot of the program?

Can you run it? If so, check "About AnyPC" and give us the info from there?
__________________
Check out my city... CLICK HERE!
(If you've already visited yesterday, visit again today!)
VamPyroX is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-30-2010, 11:55 AM   #4
SneakerNet
My IQ: 12
 
SneakerNet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: 2653'41.95" N 4140'50.62" W
Posts: 2,255
Likes: 1
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
AnyPC is basically allow to run bigger applications or processing power where Netbook can't. So, you can install a "Server" on your desktop or laptop and have netbook run applications from your desktop, it's similar to "remote" access. As you all know that disk size or ram size are limited on netbook, and have no place to install applications. So using AnyPC solve all that problems. So there are two part.. AnyPC client (in netbook) and AnyPC server on desktop. That is all.
SneakerNet is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-30-2010, 11:59 AM   #5
Reba
Retired Terp
 
Reba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 46,399
Likes: 67
Liked 141 Times in 62 Posts
Thanks, guys. It doesn't sound like anything I'll need but I'll leave alone for now. It might be useful later.

p.s.
I just noticed that installing it would send me to a payment page, so I'm not interested.
Reba is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-30-2010, 12:08 PM   #6
SneakerNet
My IQ: 12
 
SneakerNet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: 2653'41.95" N 4140'50.62" W
Posts: 2,255
Likes: 1
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Yeah, the only different is that using remote access take a complete control of another computer. AnyPC run as a sever on the desktop (in background mode) so that way other person can use the desktop running different application while Netbook connected to desktop running in background mode and run another application. it's almost like virtual system.
SneakerNet is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-31-2010, 11:12 AM   #7
VamPyroX
bloody phreak from hell
 
VamPyroX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: 40.18, 58.41
Posts: 34,363
Likes: 0
Liked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Send a message via ICQ to VamPyroX Send a message via AIM to VamPyroX Send a message via Yahoo to VamPyroX
Quote:
Originally Posted by Reba View Post
Thanks, guys. It doesn't sound like anything I'll need but I'll leave alone for now. It might be useful later.

p.s.
I just noticed that installing it would send me to a payment page, so I'm not interested.
Yeah, I wouldn't be surprised about that.

A lot of computers come with a bunch of icons/shortcuts included on the desktop. Clicking on them give you a great offer, but also cost money.

I remember back then when a lot of computers included "Install AOL" icons.
__________________
Check out my city... CLICK HERE!
(If you've already visited yesterday, visit again today!)
VamPyroX is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-31-2010, 07:04 PM   #8
diehardbiker
Registered User
 
diehardbiker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: KKnabis's House
Posts: 14,713
Likes: 17
Liked 11 Times in 8 Posts
OMG! I totally forgot all about it, that is right it was everywhere and it was a PEST plus very invasive! Even if I decline that, they installed anyway. I hate AOL forever!

Quote:
Originally Posted by VamPyroX View Post
I remember back then when a lot of computers included "Install AOL" icons.
__________________
J-MAC's quote: "People who try and fail are more superior than people who don't try at all"

"If people let the government decide what foods they eat and what medicines they take, their bodies will soon be in as sorry a state as the souls who live under tyranny."
Thomas Jefferson (1778)

NY Governor Andrew Cuomo MUST go! We, the New Yorker had ENOUGH of Cuomo's BS!
diehardbiker is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-31-2010, 08:39 PM   #9
Ocie Denver
Registered User
 
Ocie Denver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: USS Iowa - Akira class starship - Federation space
Posts: 931
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by VamPyroX View Post
A lot of computers come with a bunch of icons/shortcuts included on the desktop. Clicking on them give you a great offer, but also cost money.
That is why I prefer retail version since it does not contain any bloat software.
__________________

Hi. I'm right behind you, yet I have a urge to stabback ya...
Ocie Denver is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-31-2010, 08:43 PM   #10
purplecatty
Registered User
 
purplecatty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Center of the USA
Posts: 3,690
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I've used AnyPC program before. It's nice and useful. I didn't use it much because I couldn't figure out how to setup VPN. But AnyPC is useful for home networking if you want to monitor kid's usage, run a program without running down and up the stair, transfer files and shut off system in other rooms without walking back and forth.

The problem in the past that it was a resource hog that my kids can spot it easily when I connect to monitor their usage. Right now system are much better, powerful and faster plus plenty memory so it wouldn't be a problem.

Catty
purplecatty is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:02 AM.


Join AllDeaf on Facebook!    Follow us on Twitter!

AllDeaf proudly supports St. Jude Children's Research Hospital

Copyright © 2002-2014, AllDeaf.com. All Rights Reserved.