AllDeaf.com
Perks - Advertise - Spy - Who Quoted Me  
Go Back   AllDeaf.com > Technology > Computers, Electronics, IT & Gaming
LIKE AllDeaf on Facebook FOLLOW AllDeaf on Twitter
Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread 12-06-2009, 12:09 AM   #1
Dory
Registered User
 
Dory's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Cedar Rapids IA
Posts: 18
Blog Entries: 1
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via AIM to Dory Send a message via Yahoo to Dory
Angry Vizio won't show DVD CC; why?!

I have a Vizio 50" LCD connected to a Sony DVD player via component (not HDMI). It will not show CC on my DVDs.

I don't mean subtitles; Deaf folk know there is big difference between CC and subtitles, right?!

I have been through the Vizio manual and I can't figure out how to turn on CC for DVDs. It shows CC great on all my DTV channels. I went through the Sony manual and no luck there, either.

I know the CC is on the DVD because the CC shows up on old TV. But not on my new TV! So frustrating that CC works on my old crappy TV but not on the TV I spent $1800 on!
Dory is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
All Deaf

Beitrag Sponsored Links

__________________
This advertising will not be shown in this way to registered members.
Register your free account today and become a member on AllDeaf.com
   
Unread 12-06-2009, 01:06 AM   #2
The Highlander
Registered User
 
The Highlander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 8,040
Likes: 2
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Another Iowa. No wonder.

Just go to sony dvd player's setup *without a disc* and you will see CC in there to enable.
__________________
"There are a lot of people that don’t like this software. It is because they don’t understand how to use the software and don’t realize it’s potential."
The Highlander is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 12-06-2009, 10:26 AM   #3
Lighthouse77
Registered User
 
Lighthouse77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 4,167
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Highlander, you are insulting. I hope you edit your post before Dory sees it.
__________________
Good thing about standards is that there are so many of them to choose from.
Lighthouse77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 12-06-2009, 11:18 AM   #4
Bottesini
Old Deaf Ranter
 
Bottesini's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: HFA
Posts: 41,053
Blog Entries: 1
Likes: 48
Liked 65 Times in 43 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Highlander View Post
Another Iowa. No wonder.

Just go to sony dvd player's setup *without a disc* and you will see CC in there to enable.
WHat do you mean by that? I am an Iowan with Vizio plasma who can set up for CC or SDH on my equipment!

I don't think Iowa is part of the equation if you were referring to me.
__________________
Hello Hulk!
Bottesini is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 12-06-2009, 11:22 AM   #5
Steel X
Registered User
 
Steel X's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 13,861
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via AIM to Steel X
Are you using regular AV cables or component cables? If using component cables, CC won't work that way.
Steel X is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 12-06-2009, 11:36 AM   #6
The Highlander
Registered User
 
The Highlander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 8,040
Likes: 2
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lighthouse77 View Post
Highlander, you are insulting. I hope you edit your post before Dory sees it.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bottesini View Post
WHat do you mean by that? I am an Iowan with Vizio plasma who can set up for CC or SDH on my equipment!

I don't think Iowa is part of the equation if you were referring to me.
No, it was not insult. I live Iowa area.
__________________
"There are a lot of people that don’t like this software. It is because they don’t understand how to use the software and don’t realize it’s potential."
The Highlander is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 12-06-2009, 11:38 AM   #7
The Highlander
Registered User
 
The Highlander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 8,040
Likes: 2
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steel X View Post
Are you using regular AV cables or component cables? If using component cables, CC won't work that way.
Nah.

AV and Component cable are still work great with CC for any LCD/Plasma.

HMDI is work great for Player/DVR/media center with built-in CC.
__________________
"There are a lot of people that don’t like this software. It is because they don’t understand how to use the software and don’t realize it’s potential."
The Highlander is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 12-06-2009, 12:41 PM   #8
Ocie Denver
Registered User
 
Ocie Denver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: USS Iowa - Akira class starship - Federation space
Posts: 931
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Dory, have you turn on the subtitles in DVD's main menu? Or look up for CC option in DVD player's setup menu?
__________________

Hi. I'm right behind you, yet I have a urge to stabback ya...
Ocie Denver is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 12-06-2009, 01:06 PM   #9
Dory
Registered User
 
Dory's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Cedar Rapids IA
Posts: 18
Blog Entries: 1
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via AIM to Dory Send a message via Yahoo to Dory
Thanks, everyone! I'm'a take all the discs out and check the DVD settings.

P.S. At first I thought, hey Iowa ppl aren't dumb, but then I see you're kidding
Dory is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 12-06-2009, 01:35 PM   #10
Bottesini
Old Deaf Ranter
 
Bottesini's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: HFA
Posts: 41,053
Blog Entries: 1
Likes: 48
Liked 65 Times in 43 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Highlander View Post
No, it was not insult. I live Iowa area.
Oh! Whoops. Sorry about that. You never said.
__________________
Hello Hulk!
Bottesini is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 12-06-2009, 04:09 PM   #11
The Highlander
Registered User
 
The Highlander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 8,040
Likes: 2
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dory View Post
Thanks, everyone! I'm'a take all the discs out and check the DVD settings.

P.S. At first I thought, hey Iowa ppl aren't dumb, but then I see you're kidding
That's great, you solved the problem.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bottesini View Post
Oh! Whoops. Sorry about that. You never said.
That's fine, I was mean that Iowa people have a lot bad luck. I had to help them to solve the problem and good luck.
__________________
"There are a lot of people that don’t like this software. It is because they don’t understand how to use the software and don’t realize it’s potential."
The Highlander is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 12-06-2009, 07:20 PM   #12
Dory
Registered User
 
Dory's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Cedar Rapids IA
Posts: 18
Blog Entries: 1
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via AIM to Dory Send a message via Yahoo to Dory
I took out all DVDs and got my manuals back out for both DVD and TV. Worked with both TV menu and DVD menu for about an hour each and still have no luck.

I think it's DVD player's fault.

TV: I have menu set to automatically have CC on for both analog and digital.

DVD player: I found no CC settings whatsoever. Not even in the index at the end of the manual! Only options for subtitles.

Still have no captions from this closed captioned DVD. The back of the box says it's CC and the CC shows up on the old TV/DVD so it's not the DVD's fault.

I'm so frustrated because I am so NOT dumb about technological things (that's not a zing at you, Highlander, we're ok!) and in fact, I'm a pretty big gadget queen. But I've had this set up for a couple years and have never been able to figure it out. I have googled the shit out of it. I wish I had done better research before I bought these TV and DVD player, but I've never had trouble with Sony before so didn't think CC would be a problem with this player.

Thanks for all your help anyway, guys! My first "real" post in these forums and I'm really happy with the community you guys have here!

Dory
__________________
Can't Remember Diddly!EtsyFacebookflickrGoogleTwitterYouTube
Dory is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 12-06-2009, 08:31 PM   #13
Banjo
Expelled
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 11,649
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Check the DVD player to see if the progressive mode is enabled, if it is. Disable it or switch it to interlaced mode.
Banjo is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 12-06-2009, 10:26 PM   #14
PowerWCRulez
Registered User
 
PowerWCRulez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Minneapolis, MN, USA
Posts: 1,153
Blog Entries: 3
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Yep that's what Banjo said, turn off the progressive, the player compressed would not show the CC. Don't buy if the setting don't have in the menu and get non-progressive DVD player.

Or if you have xbox 360, you can use to play DVD. the Xbox 360 don't have progressive mode.

My older DVD player don't have progressive
__________________
[] Upt'd: 6/1/2011 - Samsung Intercept is here! []
[] Avatar Pic: Ride on the bus [] Ubuntu Linux []
[] [AstroSpace DeepSpace LTD []
[] Personal Web & Scammer Alert List [] Wheelchairjunkie []
[] Xbox 360 Achievement Site [] Xbox Deaf Gamers Group []
-
[] System Owned: []
[] 3-25-2011 MacBook Pro / 17" HDWS LED / i7 Core / 750GB HD / 4 GB Ram []
--
[] Playstation 3 []
PSN Gamercards

PowerWCRulez is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 12-06-2009, 11:57 PM   #15
Dory
Registered User
 
Dory's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Cedar Rapids IA
Posts: 18
Blog Entries: 1
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via AIM to Dory Send a message via Yahoo to Dory
I got all kinds of stoked when I read this.

Husband grabbed remote and turned off progressive. Still not work.

*grabs an elephant gun and points at TV*
*reconsiders and puts it down with a big sigh*
__________________
Can't Remember Diddly!EtsyFacebookflickrGoogleTwitterYouTube
Dory is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 12-07-2009, 01:03 AM   #16
Lighthouse77
Registered User
 
Lighthouse77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 4,167
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
are you watching any rentals? Like "UP" if so, they have taken out the special bonuses for rental and subtitles have been removed because of that. Some DVD movies don't have CC but have subtitles.
__________________
Good thing about standards is that there are so many of them to choose from.
Lighthouse77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 12-07-2009, 05:15 AM   #17
Foxrac
FOX
 
Foxrac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: East Coast
Posts: 39,331
Likes: 4
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
I had tried to watch DVD movies on Xbox 360 with component cable and CC won't show from TV and Xbox 360 don't have option to turn CC on.
__________________


Stewie is gun nut, right?
Patriot Guard Riders
Beware of NSA and they are sending manhunt to your home.
Foxrac is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 12-07-2009, 09:51 AM   #18
Banjo
Expelled
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 11,649
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dory View Post
I got all kinds of stoked when I read this.

Husband grabbed remote and turned off progressive. Still not work.

*grabs an elephant gun and points at TV*
*reconsiders and puts it down with a big sigh*
Did you check the component video input on your TV to see if the CC is enabled via the TV setup menu?

On new TVs these days, people often have to turn on CC on each video input rather than set it for all of the inputs.
Banjo is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 12-07-2009, 12:13 PM   #19
Ocie Denver
Registered User
 
Ocie Denver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: USS Iowa - Akira class starship - Federation space
Posts: 931
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
My Playstation 2 slimline can shows the CC or subtitles via component cables; however, television does the works on CC while the PS2 do subtitles by my choice. My television is Panasonic flat-screen, not HDTV.
__________________

Hi. I'm right behind you, yet I have a urge to stabback ya...
Ocie Denver is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 12-08-2009, 08:06 AM   #20
Dory
Registered User
 
Dory's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Cedar Rapids IA
Posts: 18
Blog Entries: 1
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via AIM to Dory Send a message via Yahoo to Dory
No, but I heard about that. This is Season 7 of West Wing that I own.
__________________
Can't Remember Diddly!EtsyFacebookflickrGoogleTwitterYouTube
Dory is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 12-08-2009, 08:09 AM   #21
Dory
Registered User
 
Dory's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Cedar Rapids IA
Posts: 18
Blog Entries: 1
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via AIM to Dory Send a message via Yahoo to Dory
That's very good to know because I was thinking about getting my son Xbox 360 for Christmas and also using as a DVD player. I think you can stream your Netflix to Xbox 360 too but it won't help us until Netflix pulls their heads out of their butts and captions their streaming movies!
__________________
Can't Remember Diddly!EtsyFacebookflickrGoogleTwitterYouTube
Dory is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 12-08-2009, 08:15 AM   #22
Dory
Registered User
 
Dory's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Cedar Rapids IA
Posts: 18
Blog Entries: 1
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via AIM to Dory Send a message via Yahoo to Dory
This Vizio has just the one place to turn on CC for components and then also for Digital TV. I have both set to on and also both analog and digital CC set to on. Still no captions. DVD player doesn't even have a CC setting at all, just SDH. I should have researched better before I bought this DVD player. I just figured, hey, it's a Sony, never had CC trouble with their products before.
__________________
Can't Remember Diddly!EtsyFacebookflickrGoogleTwitterYouTube
Dory is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 12-08-2009, 08:48 AM   #23
Bottesini
Old Deaf Ranter
 
Bottesini's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: HFA
Posts: 41,053
Blog Entries: 1
Likes: 48
Liked 65 Times in 43 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dory View Post
This Vizio has just the one place to turn on CC for components and then also for Digital TV. I have both set to on and also both analog and digital CC set to on. Still no captions. DVD player doesn't even have a CC setting at all, just SDH. I should have researched better before I bought this DVD player. I just figured, hey, it's a Sony, never had CC trouble with their products before.
What is wrong with SDH? It is for deaf and hoh and it works well. Or do the videos you want to see not have it?
__________________
Hello Hulk!
Bottesini is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 12-08-2009, 10:05 AM   #24
Banjo
Expelled
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 11,649
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dory View Post
This Vizio has just the one place to turn on CC for components and then also for Digital TV. I have both set to on and also both analog and digital CC set to on. Still no captions. DVD player doesn't even have a CC setting at all, just SDH. I should have researched better before I bought this DVD player. I just figured, hey, it's a Sony, never had CC trouble with their products before.
Did you go into the menu setup, not the DVD menu for the DVD player?
Banjo is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 12-08-2009, 05:32 PM   #25
Dory
Registered User
 
Dory's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Cedar Rapids IA
Posts: 18
Blog Entries: 1
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via AIM to Dory Send a message via Yahoo to Dory
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bottesini View Post
What is wrong with SDH? It is for deaf and hoh and it works well. Or do the videos you want to see not have it?
There was a setting on there to have it automatically show SDH if available, instead of hitting subtitle button or go into DVD menu every time.
__________________
Can't Remember Diddly!EtsyFacebookflickrGoogleTwitterYouTube
Dory is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 12-08-2009, 05:33 PM   #26
Dory
Registered User
 
Dory's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Cedar Rapids IA
Posts: 18
Blog Entries: 1
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via AIM to Dory Send a message via Yahoo to Dory
Quote:
Originally Posted by Banjo View Post
Did you go into the menu setup, not the DVD menu for the DVD player?
Yep. Too bad you guys can't just come on over and fix it for me. Party at Dory's!
__________________
Can't Remember Diddly!EtsyFacebookflickrGoogleTwitterYouTube
Dory is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 12-08-2009, 05:33 PM   #27
Bottesini
Old Deaf Ranter
 
Bottesini's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: HFA
Posts: 41,053
Blog Entries: 1
Likes: 48
Liked 65 Times in 43 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dory View Post
There was a setting on there to have it automatically show SDH if available, instead of hitting subtitle button or go into DVD menu every time.
So did you set it?
__________________
Hello Hulk!
Bottesini is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 12-08-2009, 10:34 PM   #28
Deaf Smith
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 29
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
This is one frustration I have with technology moving on and leaving us in the dust. Closed Captions I think, do not transmit over a component or HDMI cable to a tv from a DVD player. I have experienced trying to watch DVDs that are cc-only and having to use my old Composite(yellow) cable to watch the DVD.
Try Composite cables, the yellow one. Blue, Red, Green is Component, which is HD. Composite/yellow isn't HD, which is a drawback and frustration of mine.

Last edited by Deaf Smith; 12-09-2009 at 12:13 AM.
Deaf Smith is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 12-09-2009, 12:04 AM   #29
purplecatty
Registered User
 
purplecatty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Center of the USA
Posts: 3,690
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Even though I don't have HDTV yet but will have it soon as my basement is done. Planned to get 55" to 60" HDTV for it. Personally, from my experience, sometime DVD movies won't show CC instead of Subtitle. In few case, in DVD Movie menu, you might see "English -- Closed Captioned". I got it working. Some DVD movies won't show CC at all because it's not encoded for CC except Subtitles.

Why don't you try other DVD movies that have CC ready and test it. If it show CC on your Vizio, Then it's the blame to DVD movie, not DVD player. DVD player should be able to transmit encoded CC signal as long as DVD movie have it.

Also you might want to swap out to another good known working DVD player that CC works well. Test it. If it works fine on other DVD then it means that your DVD player is funky. My experience that everytime I watched movie with CC on, It dropped out CC in the middle of the movie. I had to "rewind" and play again and finally it stayed on. Sometime it was garbled after that. I decide to swap out DVD player (I have old Toshiba DVD player and PS2 gaming console as DVD player) Both DVD players have odd "personalty". PS2 did play movie well w/ CC all the way to end. Sometime It showed same symptoms like first DVD player. It means that DVD movie is screwed. You can return it to Movie rental place and swap it if they have another one.

So Try it.

Catty
purplecatty is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 12-09-2009, 11:46 PM   #30
PowerWCRulez
Registered User
 
PowerWCRulez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Minneapolis, MN, USA
Posts: 1,153
Blog Entries: 3
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foxrac View Post
I had tried to watch DVD movies on Xbox 360 with component cable and CC won't show from TV and Xbox 360 don't have option to turn CC on.
Component not working for CC.. get the RCA jacks (Red/white/yellow that would show CC on it.)

I have 4 buttons switcher box for VP/XB360/TV(Cable/VCR)/DVD uses RCA jacks goes to back of tv. It's Radio Shack Video switcher box.
__________________
[] Upt'd: 6/1/2011 - Samsung Intercept is here! []
[] Avatar Pic: Ride on the bus [] Ubuntu Linux []
[] [AstroSpace DeepSpace LTD []
[] Personal Web & Scammer Alert List [] Wheelchairjunkie []
[] Xbox 360 Achievement Site [] Xbox Deaf Gamers Group []
-
[] System Owned: []
[] 3-25-2011 MacBook Pro / 17" HDWS LED / i7 Core / 750GB HD / 4 GB Ram []
--
[] Playstation 3 []
PSN Gamercards

PowerWCRulez is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
closed caption

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:22 AM.


Join AllDeaf on Facebook!    Follow us on Twitter!

AllDeaf proudly supports St. Jude Children's Research Hospital

Copyright © 2002-2014, AllDeaf.com. All Rights Reserved.