AllDeaf.com
Perks - Advertise - Spy - Who Quoted Me  
Go Back   AllDeaf.com > Deaf Interests > Captioning & Sign Language Interpreter
LIKE AllDeaf on Facebook FOLLOW AllDeaf on Twitter
Advertisement
Advertisement
Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread 05-22-2008, 08:01 PM   #1
hawkeyex
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 15
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
HDTV and Closed Captioning

Has anyone managed to get it to work? I have managed to get it to work through DirecTV's settop, but would love to see natural captioning. The installer seems to think it has to do with Line 21.

Anyone know? I use Audiovox FPE3206.

hawkeyex is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-22-2008, 09:39 PM   #2
darkage
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 1,713
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
We have 2 HDTVs. About 5 weeks ago, we got HDTV Box and HDTV with DVR. It is lousy CC. Worst than standard DVR.

I believe that Highlander had DirecTV with HDTV DVR. He said - very positive.
Let you see our posted at http://www.alldeaf.com/captioning-si...r-caption.html
darkage is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-23-2008, 04:12 AM   #3
Calvin
Moderator
 
Calvin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: California
Posts: 7,882
Likes: 31
Liked 176 Times in 90 Posts
Well, I recently bought my HDTV, so I have my cable company get me a digital cable. So they explained to me, is that I power off (remote) the cable box, then press menu, the pop up menu will show that you can enable Closed Captioning in the cable box.

I don't know if all of the cable box will have that same process.

Just my .02 cents and heads up
__________________
Calvin is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-23-2008, 08:44 AM   #4
darkage
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 1,713
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Calvin View Post
Well, I recently bought my HDTV, so I have my cable company get me a digital cable. So they explained to me, is that I power off (remote) the cable box, then press menu, the pop up menu will show that you can enable Closed Captioning in the cable box.

I don't know if all of the cable box will have that same process.

Just my .02 cents and heads up


Tech Person explained me.

1) Press power (off), then select, then menu on the set top box itself with the power ON

on the box (you should see a user settings menu displayed on the tv) if that does not work ensure that the power is on to the box when starting.

2) use the down arrow and go to CC and make sure enabled, then scroll down and decide between CC1 and CC2, one of those options should correct the issue.

3) after selecting those options push the power button twice to restore power to the box and test, you can repeat if needed the same instructions.


Yes, I did try.... still can't change at all. They set up as lock that we can't change or options.
The tech person told me that HDTV box made by Motorola. That's lousy CC .

This Tuesday, we will get Cablecard. I will find out how is good or not.
darkage is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-24-2008, 12:55 AM   #5
jack55
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Tacoma, WA
Posts: 168
Likes: 0
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
I have a Mitsubishi 52" LCD 1080P HDTV hooked up with Comcast Digital HDTV Cable box and the caption works great.
jack55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-27-2008, 09:24 PM   #6
peternagy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 186
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
If you meant "Natural Captioning" inside the TV for High Definition programming, then this is for Over-the Air (OTA) antenna only. HDTV Closed Caption decoder inside TV will not work with external tuners like Satellite or Cable Box. If you cannot get good antenna reception, then you must enable CC inside external tuners and use HDMI, DVI or component cables. I downloaded operating manual of your TV and it's on page 34 about enabling CC but it's for antenna only. The manual gives very poor instructions on how to operate CC for your TV. See link: Welcome to Audiovox. Click on "Find a Manual" button.

I have not used CableCard (for cable TV subscribers only) and it might work with digital CC inside your TV but I might be wrong.

If you subscribe High Definition programming with DirectTV, then your satellite receiver must support High Definition and you have to enable CC via setup menu of DirectTV tuner box.

"Line 21" is for old style analog CC only. Digital CC does not support "Line 21".

Peter
peternagy is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06-03-2008, 02:58 PM   #7
TechBill
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,206
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
CC are stripped before it passed thur HDMI or upconvert Compoment cables so you can't get CC on HDTV unless DirectTV box have built in CC (HDTV DirectTV box does have it built in) or HDTV Cable box have built in CC that you will need to enable before it is sent to the HDTV via HDMI or upconvert Compoment.

Stupid move by the FCC to allow this on HDMI and upconvert Compoment.

Since there is no upconvert dvd player that could decode CC and we are currently stuck with old DVD player and HDTV TV if we want to watch the standard DVD discs unless you built a HTPC computer which I did and it allow me to upcovert my movies with CC and pass it out HDMI or Compoment.


.
TechBill is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06-03-2008, 05:25 PM   #8
tjw1973
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Panasonic has a dvd recorder with hdmi and CC

Panasonic has two models that I know for sure have support of closed captions when using an HDMI cable. The DMREZ27 and DMREZ28. I purchased the EZ28 at best buy yesterday and after hooking it up to my tv I had to turn on analog and digital CC in the setup menu of the dvd player. Then as a test I put in Stargate season 1 disc 1 which only has closed captions (no subtitles) and turned off the CC on my tv. When I played the episode the Captions were visible even with tv CC turned off as these panasonic recorders make the captions part of the picture before sending it over the HDMI cables to the tv. I hope the helps everyone looking for a way to get the most of their HDTV's and still have CC's. Please pass the word to others about panasonics support of this feature (at least in their dvd recorders).
tjw1973 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06-03-2008, 06:14 PM   #9
Banjo
Expelled
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 11,649
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by tjw1973 View Post
Panasonic has two models that I know for sure have support of closed captions when using an HDMI cable. The DMREZ27 and DMREZ28. I purchased the EZ28 at best buy yesterday and after hooking it up to my tv I had to turn on analog and digital CC in the setup menu of the dvd player. Then as a test I put in Stargate season 1 disc 1 which only has closed captions (no subtitles) and turned off the CC on my tv. When I played the episode the Captions were visible even with tv CC turned off as these panasonic recorders make the captions part of the picture before sending it over the HDMI cables to the tv. I hope the helps everyone looking for a way to get the most of their HDTV's and still have CC's. Please pass the word to others about panasonics support of this feature (at least in their dvd recorders).
That means they overlay the CC onto the video signal through the HDMI cable, but that's definitely a solution I am pushing for.
Banjo is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06-03-2008, 06:16 PM   #10
Banjo
Expelled
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 11,649
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by TechBill View Post
CC are stripped before it passed thur HDMI or upconvert Compoment cables so you can't get CC on HDTV unless DirectTV box have built in CC (HDTV DirectTV box does have it built in) or HDTV Cable box have built in CC that you will need to enable before it is sent to the HDTV via HDMI or upconvert Compoment.

Stupid move by the FCC to allow this on HDMI and upconvert Compoment.

Since there is no upconvert dvd player that could decode CC and we are currently stuck with old DVD player and HDTV TV if we want to watch the standard DVD discs unless you built a HTPC computer which I did and it allow me to upcovert my movies with CC and pass it out HDMI or Compoment.
That's what I have been saying. It is not possible to pass a CC signal through the HDMI cable unless it is overlaying the video signal. That means the CC is already embedded into the video signal rather than as a separate signal. So therefore, all video devices with HDMI output should be mandated to include CC decoders built in.
Banjo is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06-03-2008, 11:13 PM   #11
peternagy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 186
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Banjo View Post
That's what I have been saying. It is not possible to pass a CC signal through the HDMI cable unless it is overlaying the video signal. That means the CC is already embedded into the video signal rather than as a separate signal. So therefore, all video devices with HDMI output should be mandated to include CC decoders built in.
"Alien vs Predator 2" Blu-ray disc has CC in addition to sub-titles. Like Banjo said, CC is embedded into the video signal. Also the quality of embedded CC in this movie was pretty bad. The text was very pixalated and huge. It might good for people with poor eye sights.

Peter
peternagy is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06-03-2008, 11:22 PM   #12
Banjo
Expelled
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 11,649
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by peternagy View Post
"Alien vs Predator 2" Blu-ray disc has CC in addition to sub-titles. Like Banjo said, CC is embedded into the video signal. Also the quality of embedded CC in this movie was pretty bad. The text was very pixalated and huge. It might good for people with poor eye sights.

Peter
I have noticed that all of Fox releases on Blu-ray feature the CC symbol. However, I have never seen it in action because I don't have the option to view it. As far as I know, Fox is the only one who use the CC symbol on their Blu-ray cases.
Banjo is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06-03-2008, 11:45 PM   #13
peternagy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 186
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Banjo View Post
I have noticed that all of Fox releases on Blu-ray feature the CC symbol. However, I have never seen it in action because I don't have the option to view it. As far as I know, Fox is the only one who use the CC symbol on their Blu-ray cases.
My Blu-ray player is a home built Home Theater PC (HTPC). I use Cyberlink PowerDVD Utra 8 software to play Blu-ray movies. One day I was configuring the software and accidentally noticed "Closed Caption", gave it a try and it worked. Other Blu-ray movies showed dimmed "Closed Caption" meaning the discs didn't include CC. I don't know which stand alone Blu-ray player offer CC. Maybe Playstation 3.

Peter
peternagy is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06-04-2008, 11:18 AM   #14
Banjo
Expelled
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 11,649
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by peternagy View Post
My Blu-ray player is a home built Home Theater PC (HTPC). I use Cyberlink PowerDVD Utra 8 software to play Blu-ray movies. One day I was configuring the software and accidentally noticed "Closed Caption", gave it a try and it worked. Other Blu-ray movies showed dimmed "Closed Caption" meaning the discs didn't include CC. I don't know which stand alone Blu-ray player offer CC. Maybe Playstation 3.

Peter
Oh that explains. None of the Blu-ray players on the market is capable of doing that at the moment. However, in theory, PS3 is capable of doing this but they haven't done anything about it yet.

Anyway, Cyberlink has quite an ugly CC style to start with. It always has looked like that.
Banjo is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06-09-2008, 09:09 PM   #15
hawkeyex
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 15
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Hey guys

Thanks for all the info. I have considered all the options, and have decided to stick with the DirecTV's captioning feature. I'm happy, and we'll stick with subtitles in our DVD players in lieu of the missing captioning (although I am *pretty sure* it's working, but will test it tonight)

Now if *I* could figure out how to get my dad to switch from Comcast to DirecTV. My dad doesn't like captioning very much (as he is hearing), and wants to be able to switch it off automatically with Comcast's HD set top using a remote. DirecTV does allow for that (and they're still getting my business)

So far, my readings has indicated to me that it is not possible. Am I wrong?

Hawkeye-X
hawkeyex is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06-22-2008, 06:00 PM   #16
trekwarpspeed
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 65
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Exclamation I See,,,

1) if you buy tv without HDTV itself.
2) if you buy HDTV box for hook up your tv.
3) if you buy Component video.
4) if you buy Plasma tv.
then closed captioned will not work always...

how is working with closed captioned?
1) buy LCD widescreen tv come with in HDTV also hdmi 1 or 2..
2) buy hdmi cable
3) dishtv come with vip722 DVR
4) over 100 HD channels

i watch cnnhd, sci-fichd, starzhd and more...i dont see any problems at all..

DONT BUY PLASMA TV BECAUSE CC DIDNT NOT MATCH SPEAKER SAME TIME!
trekwarpspeed is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06-22-2008, 06:14 PM   #17
darkage
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 1,713
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by trekwarpspeed View Post
1)

DONT BUY PLASMA TV BECAUSE CC DIDNT NOT MATCH SPEAKER SAME TIME!


NO SENSE.... to say do not buy PLASMA TV.
HDMI cable will won't work with TV's CC unless you use Comcast, Fios, Network Dish TV or DirecTV box will turn on or off CC.

Right now, we have 3 HDTVs include plasma HDTV. No problem with CC. Most important to check ATSC (great for after Feb 2009).

Almost 5 years ago, we bought first Plasma HDTV with built-in ASTC (not require to use HDTV Box). 5 years ago, they were not many built-in HDTV Turner or ATSC.

We like Plasma TV because rich color!!! One thing not great for bright room.
darkage is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06-22-2008, 06:25 PM   #18
Secretblend
Registered User
 
Secretblend's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 4,136
Likes: 68
Liked 30 Times in 21 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by darkage View Post
NO SENSE.... to say do not buy PLASMA TV.
HDMI cable will won't work with TV's CC unless you use Comcast, Fios, Network Dish TV or DirecTV box will turn on or off CC.

Right now, we have 3 HDTVs include plasma HDTV. No problem with CC. Most important to check ATSC (great for after Feb 2009).

Almost 5 years ago, we bought first Plasma HDTV with built-in ASTC (not require to use HDTV Box). 5 years ago, they were not many built-in HDTV Turner or ATSC.

We like Plasma TV because rich color!!! One thing not great for bright room.

Correct me if I am wrong but you've had your plamsa tv for 5 years? If so, it's still working fine? The reason I asked is cause I was told that they have a habit of working around 3 years or so before the screen starts to not work.
Secretblend is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06-22-2008, 06:46 PM   #19
trekwarpspeed
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 65
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
i brought 32" PLASMA HDTV possible 6 years ago, we use with charter cable box and without hdmi, own dvr box too. some channels didn't work with CC and HD too that sad... one of my friend hearing talk about between plasma and lcd (cc same time speaker). he was test and listen both LCD and PLASMA. he found out that too same thing his friends has plms with plasma didnt not perfect match cc and speaker same time like 5 second delay...i knew it.... plasma is suck also not enough bright colors...

so now i have LCD 42" for almost 2 years much better.....
trekwarpspeed is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06-22-2008, 09:07 PM   #20
darkage
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 1,713
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
That's why...... Today is improving tech better than 6 years ago. That's time, they do not have built-in Digital (HDTV) Turner as ATSC. LCD HDTV was very expensive.
5 years ago, they had few built-in HDTV Turner. Today, All HDTV have built-in ATSC (HD Turner) and NTSC. Next few years, NTSC will be gone.


Our twin sons (college students) are hearing. They told me that CC and Voice are not same time (just behind or earlier). Just few seconds different. That's big deal.

We did try few different way on "Smallville" HDTV and non-HDTV.
Fios HDTV box - use HD program - poor quality (fad some letters - hard time to read CC)
Fios HDTV box - use non HD program - flash CC (disappear - no way to read in 1 sec)
Fios Standard TV Box - great CC (little behind or earlier)
Tivo HD Box - use HD program - 50 percent missing CC but great quality CC
Tivo HD Box - use non-HD - not yet test
Antenna - Over the air - HD program great CC but one thing weak signal.
Antenna - Over the air - non-HD - still normal CC as standard TV - sometime weak signal

Antenna gave me too much adjust to find better image.
darkage is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-12-2008, 12:29 PM   #21
XBGMER
Registered User
 
XBGMER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 4,489
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I have a VIZIO 42" LCD 1080P HDTV, I did not have dvr nor cable digital. I guess that I am behind it. LOL!
__________________
XBGMER is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-12-2008, 12:59 PM   #22
PowerON
Registered User
 
PowerON's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: 37.5, 126.9
Posts: 10,883
Blog Entries: 5
Likes: 3
Liked 6 Times in 4 Posts
Send a message via AIM to PowerON Send a message via Yahoo to PowerON Send a message via Skype™ to PowerON
Quote:
Originally Posted by XBGMER View Post
I have a VIZIO 42" LCD 1080P HDTV, I did not have dvr nor cable digital. I guess that I am behind it. LOL!
hook up with antenna to receive digital channels thru the setting. It rocks as you get 4 primary channels plus some more.
__________________
[Illustrator.Blog-alloon.com]
Don't shoot me! I'm only blogger!
PowerON is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-12-2008, 07:48 PM   #23
jasin
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Puyallup, Washington
Posts: 1,570
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by TechBill View Post
CC are stripped before it passed thur HDMI or upconvert Compoment cables so you can't get CC on HDTV unless DirectTV box have built in CC (HDTV DirectTV box does have it built in) or HDTV Cable box have built in CC that you will need to enable before it is sent to the HDTV via HDMI or upconvert Compoment.

Stupid move by the FCC to allow this on HDMI and upconvert Compoment.

Since there is no upconvert dvd player that could decode CC and we are currently stuck with old DVD player and HDTV TV if we want to watch the standard DVD discs unless you built a HTPC computer which I did and it allow me to upcovert my movies with CC and pass it out HDMI or Compoment.


.
Very good info !!!! Yes, stupid fcc, but thats the government for ya
jasin is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-12-2008, 08:52 PM   #24
jasin
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Puyallup, Washington
Posts: 1,570
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by PowerON View Post
hook up with antenna to receive digital channels thru the setting. It rocks as you get 4 primary channels plus some more.
I hear (haha ) some are getting more then that now.
jasin is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-13-2008, 04:32 AM   #25
coolguy1973fla
Registered User
 
coolguy1973fla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Florida
Posts: 334
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
First TV in Living room

My dad have 47" Samsung LCD HDTV 480p /480i / 720p/1080i
HDMI #1 = rented Comcast Sci-Atl HDTV cable converter with HDMI with built-in HDTV/SDTV CC built-in
HDMI #2 = My own PLAYSTATION 3 DVD/BLU-RAY DRIVE HAS BUILT-IN SUBTITLES FOR THE HEARING IMPAIRED

RF Input Cable CATV: Not used
OTA Input Coaxal Cable: Radio Shack amplified VHF/UHF/HDTV INDOOR ANTENNA W/ wireless RF Remote Control --- CATALOG NUMBER 15-1892

Second TV is in my bedroom

i have my own energystar product 13" Sanyo Vizon flat LCD color TV :

Sanyo Vizon have built-in analog closed caption (Line 21) has successfully worked with Magnvox OTA Digital Converter box.

use Yellow , white and red audio/video plug to OTA for energystar product Digital TV converter name is Magnvox with input antenna with Radio Shack indoor antenna 15-1892.

I don't have rent SDTV digital cable converter but I still use direct connect analog cable channel 2 to up to 99.

Third TV is in my bedroom

1990 9" Sony Trinitron CRT color TV is very good condition. My VP200 use hook up to my old TV. My old TV does not have a built-in closed caption.

forth TV is my dad's bedroom. My own 27" Sony Trinitron WEGA. He borrowed my 2003 27" Sony Trinitron WEGA flat CRT color TV with my dad use rent dark gray Sci-Atl SDTV digital cable converter.

fifth TV is my dad's home office: My dad is own 20" Sony Trinitron WEGA flat CRT Color TV with Magnvox OTA converter with indoor OTA antenna. there is no cable tv outlet.


I will buy new 20" to 37" HDTV for my own bedroom and I will remove 13" Sanyo LCD TV and magnvox OTA converter.

I will use 13" Sanyo LCD TV and Magnvox OTA converter to use power inverter with battery back-up with Solar power when the storm will knock FPL power line will be down. I watch Special Report for Hurricane update with power restoration process update.

I will buy few Solar power with Li-ion battery for My T-Mobile blackberry 8100 Black Pearl when no electricity available.
coolguy1973fla is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-13-2008, 04:56 AM   #26
coolguy1973fla
Registered User
 
coolguy1973fla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Florida
Posts: 334
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by darkage View Post
That's why...... Today is improving tech better than 6 years ago. That's time, they do not have built-in Digital (HDTV) Turner as ATSC. LCD HDTV was very expensive.
5 years ago, they had few built-in HDTV Turner. Today, All HDTV have built-in ATSC (HD Turner) and NTSC. Next few years, NTSC will be gone.


Our twin sons (college students) are hearing. They told me that CC and Voice are not same time (just behind or earlier). Just few seconds different. That's big deal.

We did try few different way on "Smallville" HDTV and non-HDTV.
Fios HDTV box - use HD program - poor quality (fad some letters - hard time to read CC)
Fios HDTV box - use non HD program - flash CC (disappear - no way to read in 1 sec)
Fios Standard TV Box - great CC (little behind or earlier)
Tivo HD Box - use HD program - 50 percent missing CC but great quality CC
Tivo HD Box - use non-HD - not yet test
Antenna - Over the air - HD program great CC but one thing weak signal.
Antenna - Over the air - non-HD - still normal CC as standard TV - sometime weak signal

Antenna gave me too much adjust to find better image.
Next Year high power station NTSC analog will be offline forever Feb 17 2009.

analog low power station (LPTV) or small company broadcaster who is not afford to get digital equipment or analog repeater station will remain until 2012. when digital boardcast equipment to be reduce price the small boadcast company will be affordable to buy new digital boardcast equipment.

HDTV and Analog TV Channel 52 or up ( 700 mhz ) will no longer available after Feb 17 2009, for 700mhz signal has been auction sold to other companies for digital talkie walkie or wireless Internet service or other government emergency freqenacy reserved

when Digital only low power station called (LDTV) will be remain same for all VHF or UHF 14-51 before or after Feb 17th that newest low power Boardcaster does not have analog equipment, Analog TV owners, you must have OTA digital set top converter if you have analog tv without converter will not able to see low power digital program. all 700 mhz UHF boadcaster have to re-assign new UHF 14 to 51 or VHF channel freqency by FCC license renewal after Feb 17, 2009.

OTA digital TV or OTA digital converter owner have to update re-scan new channel after Feb 17 2009


large outdoor rooftop HDTV antenna is better to get more channel up to 100 miles range if you live your own house.

Indoor Antenna is only for under 25 miles to up to 45 miles depend on model.

Live online is Closed caption is few delay because they hear and type what they said. have to be patient to receive the message what they said.

non-live (offline) like as movie they make to input caption data during modified program and same time on voice on the taped. TV will read offline closed caption thorugh the data storage like as DVD or VHS tape itself
coolguy1973fla is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-28-2008, 08:39 PM   #27
Duskywolf
Registered User
 
Duskywolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: FLorida
Posts: 201
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by peternagy View Post
If you meant "Natural Captioning" inside the TV for High Definition programming, then this is for Over-the Air (OTA) antenna only. HDTV Closed Caption decoder inside TV will not work with external tuners like Satellite or Cable Box. If you cannot get good antenna reception, then you must enable CC inside external tuners and use HDMI, DVI or component cables. I downloaded operating manual of your TV and it's on page 34 about enabling CC but it's for antenna only. The manual gives very poor instructions on how to operate CC for your TV. See link: Welcome to Audiovox. Click on "Find a Manual" button.

I have not used CableCard (for cable TV subscribers only) and it might work with digital CC inside your TV but I might be wrong.

If you subscribe High Definition programming with DirectTV, then your satellite receiver must support High Definition and you have to enable CC via setup menu of DirectTV tuner box.

"Line 21" is for old style analog CC only. Digital CC does not support "Line 21".

Peter
Yes. I agreed with you but the problem, they didn't think of us. just show off those fancy high quality video and sound. Which I do not understand it but I am sure they can fix. Unfortunate for us because there no law for this. how sad.

I am talked about HDMI
Duskywolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-21-2008, 08:54 AM   #28
camijerosa
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 15
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Cool Charter Communication

Hello, I bought samsung HDTV LCD recent. I got charter HDTV Cable Explorer 8300HDC. I plug HDMI cable from that charter box to my new samsung HDTV LCD. The closed captioned does not work! But use cable only Closed captioned does work. But not not HD .
Does DirectTV has capable to use HDMI with closed captioned for HDTV?
camijerosa is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-21-2008, 12:22 PM   #29
peternagy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 186
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by camijerosa View Post
Hello, I bought samsung HDTV LCD recent. I got charter HDTV Cable Explorer 8300HDC. I plug HDMI cable from that charter box to my new samsung HDTV LCD. The closed captioned does not work! But use cable only Closed captioned does work. But not not HD .
Does DirectTV has capable to use HDMI with closed captioned for HDTV?
I am going to assume "cable only Closed Captioned does work" for analog stations only.

If that's the case, you have to enable Closed Caption in HDTV Cable box via menu setup. I do not know if your cable box supports CC. If it's not supported, contact your cable company and request for a HDTV cable box with CC support. I downloaded a manual for your cable box and I could not find CC setup. Unfortunately that's how digital or HDTV CC works.

HDTV's with built in CC decoder will only work with Over the Air (OTA) antenna or analog stations like basic cable. If you want to watch HDTV with CC from external source like cable box, Satellite receiver, or digital video recorder, then these external sources need to support CC via HDMI or DVI.

Peter
peternagy is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-29-2008, 10:46 AM   #30
camijerosa
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 15
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Charter Communication

Finally after research google. I found and I enable CC on charter remote menu button. Now HDMI has closed captioned with HD!!

However some channel which does not have HD the CC got so big letters and over the size of tv screen. I had to resize smaller inorder to see CC full. CC works great when have HD. HDNBC, HDCBS, HBOHD. ABC does not have HD available in charter.

Anyone can tell me is Direct TV better than Charter for HDMI with CC? ABC with HD available in Direct TV?

Thank you for sharing,
MM
camijerosa is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:12 PM.


Join AllDeaf on Facebook!    Follow us on Twitter!

AllDeaf proudly supports St. Jude Children's Research Hospital

Copyright © 2002-2014, AllDeaf.com. All Rights Reserved.